Use htdocs on NAS

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Use htdocs on NAS

Postby MaxG » 05. July 2009 20:26

Hello everyone!

I have tried to use my htdocs from NAS without success. I used IP address, mapped drive (Z:\) etc.
Apache 2.2.8 (WinXP Pro) says: "The requested operation has failed!".
The error-log file does not record anything.
The configuration file has the general directory settings like this:

<Directory "/">
Options FollowSymLinks Includes Indexes MultiViews
Allow from all
Order allow,deny
AllowOverride All
</Directory>

How to setup my Apache to run websites from a Network drive? :roll:

Max
MaxG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. July 2009 11:23

Re: Use htdocs on NAS

Postby Wiedmann » 05. July 2009 21:40

mapped drive (Z:\)

You must use UNC paths. And Apache must run with a user which have access privileges to this share.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Use htdocs on NAS

Postby MaxG » 06. July 2009 12:36

I'm logged in on NAS. I have tried with UNC paths Windows-like and Unix-like.
The response is always the same: "The requested operation has failed!"

What i have to configure?
MaxG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. July 2009 11:23

Re: Use htdocs on NAS

Postby MaxG » 10. July 2009 11:42

Can anyone help me?
MaxG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. July 2009 11:23

Re: Use htdocs on NAS

Postby Nobbie » 10. July 2009 12:33

Probably the SYSTEM User (which executes the services) does not have sufficient rights to access the NAS. Or the NAS is not already connected when Apache Services starts.

You may try to start Apache not as a service, but manually after you have started Windows. It is then executed with your UserID instead of System and the NAS will be connected to your LAN.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8778
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Use htdocs on NAS

Postby MaxG » 10. July 2009 16:42

Nobbie wrote:Probably the SYSTEM User (which executes the services) does not have sufficient rights to access the NAS. Or the NAS is not already connected when Apache Services starts.

You may try to start Apache not as a service, but manually after you have started Windows. It is then executed with your UserID instead of System and the NAS will be connected to your LAN.


I'm logged on Nas before start Apache Service... How to verify the error?
MaxG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. July 2009 11:23


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests