Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby petipogled » 05. May 2009 21:50

Iv been trying to solve this for 4 days , not even friendly demigod Google helped, i m banging my head already out of frustration.

I have this script and it always reports this
Failed to use 'shell_exec' in PHP. Please contact your hosting.

I checked
-disable function its off
-safe mode is off too

I put php.ini in script directory too!!

Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

hat can i do?
pls help!
petipogled
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. May 2009 21:42

Re: Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby Wiedmann » 05. May 2009 21:55

Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Yes.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby petipogled » 06. May 2009 00:38

Please tell me how.
petipogled
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. May 2009 21:42

Re: Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby Wiedmann » 06. May 2009 07:20

Please tell me how.

Like you can read in the PHP manual.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby petipogled » 06. May 2009 09:52

Wow, very helpful, only if i didnt read it a few times id say thanx but....
petipogled
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. May 2009 21:42

Re: Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby Nobbie » 06. May 2009 12:13

May we see your test script which does not work?
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8761
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby petipogled » 07. May 2009 15:07

Hi Nobbis, nice to see some good spirited people here,
here are the screenshot of the error on my local instalation of xampp
http://answersmine.com/screen1.JPG
http://answersmine.com/screen2.JPG

By searching and googling i found these solution proposals so far
safe mode off
disable functions off
placed php.ini everywhere where its needed

I m out of ideas and on verge of breakdown.... i desperately need this script to work.

Pleeease help!!
petipogled
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05. May 2009 21:42

Re: Is it possible to run Shell exec on Xamp?

Postby Wiedmann » 07. May 2009 15:27

By searching and googling i found these solution proposals so far

Maybe this was not clear:
You must do nothing in XAMPP/Win (standard installation) so shell_exec() works. It's working out of the box and exactly like you can read in the PHP Manual.
--> Just try it with your own script.

i desperately need this script to work.

There is nothing we can do, if this script have a bug or does not support Windows at all.
--> You should/must ask the author of this script what happens (what you can do), because you are trying to install (and have problems) with this script.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests