plase help me

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 00:53

i used to have xampp running srait from the moden with no router but to day i bought a router o i can use my ps3 online now i have all that working but i cannot connect to my site wich should be here

http://sleepy-arcade.ath.cx


i cant even get to it with http://localhost


can some one help me please
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby Izzy » 22. March 2009 01:03

Is Apache and MySQL running?

If so what do you see in your browser when you go to http://localhost/ and http://127.0.0.1/

If it worked before you installed the router then you have not configured your router and or firewall to allow access to your web server.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 01:07

yes php and mysql are running when i go to http://localhost/


Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

Most likely causes:
You are not connected to the Internet.
The website is encountering problems.
There might be a typing error in the address.

What you can try:
Diagnose Connection Problems

More information

This problem can be caused by a variety of issues, including:

Internet connectivity has been lost.
The website is temporarily unavailable.
The Domain Name Server (DNS) is not reachable.
The Domain Name Server (DNS) does not have a listing for the website's domain.
If this is an HTTPS (secure) address, click Tools, click Internet Options, click Advanced, and check to be sure the SSL and TLS protocols are enabled under the security section.

For offline users

You can still view subscribed feeds and some recently viewed webpages.
To view subscribed feeds

Click the Favorites Center button , click Feeds, and then click the feed you want to view.

To view recently visited webpages (might not work on all pages)

Click Tools , and then click Work Offline.
Click the Favorites Center button , click History, and then click the page you want to view.


and when i go to http://127.0.0.1/

it just seenms to hang there
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby Izzy » 22. March 2009 01:16

yes php and mysql are running when i go to http://localhost/
How do you know that Apache and MySQL are running?

You can run xampp-portcheck.exe to see if Apache and MySQL are using the ports.

If Apache and MySQL are stopped then all ports should be free.

Do you have another browser like FireFox for example?

Make sure in IE that Work Offline is not ticked.

Make sure you have configured your router correctly and the ports are forwarded for Internet access and your firewall allows through those ports that XAMPP uses.

Here are some links to help with your router:
viewtopic.php?p=133342#p133342
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 01:27

apachi php mysl are on i can acsess my site via http://127.0.0.1/ just takes a while to load can you telll me step by step if possible cos i never used a router befor now an im realy lost :?
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby Izzy » 22. March 2009 01:34

wdm2005 wrote:apachi php mysl are on i can acsess my site via http://127.0.0.1/
If you can access using 127.0.0.1 but can't access by using localhost then try this:

I don't know what version of Windows or what version of XAMPP you are using as you omitted telling those details.

Go to C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc\Hosts file and open it in your text editor (in Vista right click on the Notetab link and select to run as administrator).

Find this line:
::1 localhost

Comment it out so it looks like this:
# ::1 localhost

Save the file and then try and access http://localhost/ again.


The links in my previous post may help with your router settings.

You are on Blueyonder Cable UK in perhaps Croyden IP 77.103.209.113 and your server ports would appear to be blocked either by your ISP (some cable providers block server ports unless you pay extra to have them opened) or by your router/firewall.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 08:32

it wont let me save it i get cannote create the C://windoes/system32/drivers/etc/hostfile

make sure the path and file name are correct


this is realy staring to pee me of now all i wont is to be able to connect to my site
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 08:42

ok i solved that problem i wasnt running it as admin but i still can get to local host?
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 08:45

hmm ok i lyed lol im realy sry bout this i have local host now but still can acsess my site via http://sleepy-arcade.ath.cx/
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby Izzy » 22. March 2009 08:56

Now you can access http://localhost/ and all the demos work then XAMPP is working as it should.

You should now be able to access the XAMPP Welcome page from the Internet using your IP 77.103.209.113 - but I can't access your server from here using your IP.

So something is blocking access to your server - either your port forwarding in your router and your firewall or your ISP is blocking access.

You will not be able to access with your domain name from DynDNS sleepy-arcade.ath.cx until you can access with your IP as your domain name is tied to the IP address.

I gave you some links to help with your router and firewall.

You may have to contact tech support of your ISP to find out if they are blocking port 80 to your PC.

BTW where in the xampp folder did you put your website?
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 09:12

i think i got it now can you get to it from http://sleepy-arcade.ath.cx/index.php i can ?? my site is in the httpdocs folder
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby Izzy » 22. March 2009 09:17

Yes I see it now - you must feel better now. :)

Please post back to the forum how you eventually fixed it so it might help others looking for a similar issue fix.
Thanks.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 22. March 2009 09:20

lol yeah i do :P thanks for all your help :)

sure ill post how i solved it my tip to all check check and double check settings :D
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Re: plase help me

Postby Izzy » 22. March 2009 09:32

Your welcome and that is sound advise indeed.

TIP
Rename your logo image from banner.jpg as Add Block plus is blocking it as standard because of the word banner - rename it to logo.jpg for example.

Without the logo image it spoils the site's appearance and appeal.

Good luck and now enjoy your XAMPP experience.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: plase help me

Postby wdm2005 » 07. April 2009 00:16

hello im back with another problem my apache keeps crashing soon as i goto my site apache crashes can you me again please i dont know what unfo youll need so ill await your reply please it pretty urgent thanks
wdm2005
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. March 2009 00:24

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bonniem and 65 guests