MySQL passwords mistake

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

MySQL passwords mistake

Postby Roboticmayhem » 18. March 2009 06:37

Hi,

I'm new to web servers, php, MySQL, and all this stuff in general so please explain this to me like I'm 6 years old. :?

I was in the process of moving my Joomla install from localhost to a remote host and was about to make a copy of its database to put on the server, when I noticed that at the bottom of phpMyAdmin it suggested that the root user be given a password because it was a security hole. So went over to the permissions tab and proceed to add a password to the root user. However, now nothing can access the MySQL databases including phpMyAdmin, the only way I know of changing the password back. Is there and easy way to fix this? It seems like a simple problem, but being so new, I don't really know how it works and am unsure of how to proceed. Is this a serious enough problem that the database will be lost? How much would I lose?

Thanks!
-Nick
Roboticmayhem

Re: MySQL passwords mistake

Postby Izzy » 18. March 2009 06:54

Roboticmayhem wrote:so please explain this to me like I'm 6 years old.
Now, please sit still and pay attention or no more treats until you do. :D

Always give what version of Windows and what version of XAMPP we are dealing with please or I will have to put you in a corner all on your own until you remember what to do in these forums. :D

Now back to reality.

I am assuming Windows XP and XAMPP 1.7.0 with patch2.

Go to xampp\mysql\ folder and double click on resetroot.bat and see if that helps.

You set the root password for MySQL/phpMyAdmin in the http://localhost/security page by following the link on that page.

BTW you shouldn't loose your Joomla database as it is stored under the name you gave it in a folder of the same name in xampp\mysql\data\ folder.
Izzy

Postby Roboticmayhem » 18. March 2009 06:58

*pout* Yes sir.

--> reality -->