thunderaeroi wrote:and all my settings will stay?
You shouldn't loose any of your settings as the upgrades usually don't change the settings or interfere with your own data, but for the 1.7.0 upgrade you must follow a slightly different method as outlined in the upgrade text file.
I usually drag my existing xampp folder holding down the Ctrl key to make a Copy of xampp
folder then if anything does go wrong I have a fully working copy to revert to so I can try again - just a case of renaming the Copy of xampp
folder back to just xampp
to re-establish my working installation.
This method also allows me to check the settings have indeed not been changed and acts a very useful backup.