MYSQL AND XAMPP CONTROL PANEL

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

MYSQL AND XAMPP CONTROL PANEL

Postby VGabbler » 13. February 2009 05:57

Hi, like most people posting here I am new to Xampp so pardon any ignorance.

I am running Windows XP Professional SP3 with Xampp V1.7 with Patch 1.

When I start mySQL in the control panel it appears to start fine.
I then click the admin button to enter the winmysqladminscreen, get prompted for the user name and password and then enter the winmysqladminscreen dialog.

Once finished in this dialog I right click and select WINNT\Shut Down this Tool. The confirm shut down dialog appears and I confirm.

If I then go back into the XAMPP Control panel, the SQL Server is shown as stopped. When I click to start I get the following error showing in the on screen lo

BUSY
ERROR: Mysql service not started [-1]

When I check the running processes the system shows the my sqld.exe is still running even though Xampp says it is stopped.
Additionally I am unable to remove the system service by unticking it.

The only way I can get the SQL to run properly again is to run the mysql_uninstallservice.bat in the mysql folder. I am then able to remove the service from XAMPP control panel.\

Once this has been done I am then able to restart the SQL and re-enter the admin area through XAMPP control panel.

Am I doing something wrong or is there a bug in the XAMPP control panel?

Any ideas or suggestions would be most appreciated as I have enough grey hairs already LOL

TIA
VGabbler

Re: MYSQL AND XAMPP CONTROL PANEL

Postby Izzy » 13. February 2009 06:21

I then click the admin button to enter the winmysqladminscreen, get prompted for the user name and password and then enter the winmysqladminscreen dialog.
Don't click on this as it is deprecated and of no use now, use phpMyAdmin instead.

Run the mysql_uninstallservice again.