Setup Advice Needed

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Setup Advice Needed

Postby ss3vegeta » 27. January 2009 18:38

Hello all,

I’m considering using a dynamic DNS service so that I can host the 7 domains I own from home. They are very low traffic websites. The plan is to completely dedicate an older computer that is currently collecting dust on a shelf to be a webserver. The old PC has a 120GB HD, Athlon 1800, and 1.5GB of PC2100. I should have plenty of bandwidth and will be running off of a Brazil Firewall box through its DMZ.

I have no experience running a webserver. I know about XAMPP because we used it in a web programming class I took, but the class did not focus on any server side settings or setup.

So I guess my questions are:

1. Will XAMPP be able to fully utilize all of the resources of the computer I plan to use, or will I need to make a bunch of modifications to the setup? If so what settings will I need to modify? I want to make sure I maximize the availability of resources the web server can use.

2. Is XAMPP secure? Can it be made secure? I’m not paranoid, but I’d like to take every precaution possible to stop people from hacking the sites and messing everything up.

3. Given what I’ve asked so far is there an OS that will be best for a dedicated webserver? Is there any security software I should run?

4. Is there anything I should be asking that I haven’t?