Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Hacktor » 18. January 2009 16:50

Dear XAMPP friends,
Can someone tell me which method I have to use to Configure XAMPP Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5?????


http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/php/php4-php5-configuration.xml#doc_chap3

If this possible with XAMPP v1.7.0 ??? :?:

I'm working now with WinXP, Apache 2.0.63, PHP4, Perl, MSQL4 and Mercury v4.52
Hacktor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18. January 2009 16:39

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Izzy » 19. January 2009 04:12

This site may seed some ideas:
http://www.optimalworks.net/blog/2007/web-development/php/php-apache-windows

This topic may also help although some of the helpful post have been deleted.
viewtopic.php?t=28972

If you get stuck with creating the vhosts then a search for vhosts or virtualhost will give some good results.

Script alias in the vhosts would seem to be the clue perhaps.

Post back if you get into it but find you are stuck and help will be close.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Hacktor » 19. January 2009 22:51

THX for the quick responds....

I've read the 1st article but....
http://www.optimalworks.net/blog/2007/web-development/php/php-apache-windows
1. We’ll define the domains http://test/ and http://test4/. Both will navigate to the same php files located in C:\WebPages\
2. PHP 5 will be installed as an Apache SAPI module and will be used for pages in the domain http://test/.
3. PHP 4 will be installed as a CGI binary. PHP files will be executed using PHP 4 by changing the domain to http://test4/ or accessing via port 81, e.g. http://test:81/

and the 2de article about (3. Alternative 2: PHP4 CGI and PHP5 Apache module):
http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/php/php4-php5-configuration.xml#doc_chap3

Is the difference between 1 and 2:
Article 1:
put php 4 script files into: http://test4 and put PHP 5 script files into http://test

Article 2:
Rename my php 4 script files into .php4 and .php5 and then I can put them together into de same directory like c:\webpages
Hacktor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18. January 2009 16:39

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Izzy » 19. January 2009 23:22

If this possible with XAMPP v1.7.0 ??? :?:
No as 1.7.0 no longer contains php4, because php4 is no longer supported - try upgrading your scripts to work with php5 or download and install an older version of XAMPP, that has php4 included, from the SourceForge repository linked from the page below.

First section on the this page:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html (link)

Google search for php4 no longer supported (link)
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Hacktor » 20. January 2009 18:42

Oke... thx for your responds....

Last question....
I want to buy a new server. Which you prefer to install Xammp on:

Windows server 2008 32 bits system with 4 GB memory
or
Windows server 2008 64 bits system with 24 GB memory....
Hacktor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18. January 2009 16:39

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Wiedmann » 20. January 2009 19:10

Which you prefer to install Xammp on:

Non of them. Both Servers have a webserver included. No need to install a development environment like XAMPP...
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Hacktor » 20. January 2009 19:44

Okay, What Is then better to use with Xammp:
Windows XP Pro 32 bits or 64 bits version?

Which version give the best performance with Xammp...
I want to know this before I buy my new server :D
Hacktor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18. January 2009 16:39

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Izzy » 20. January 2009 23:19

Hacktor wrote:Okay, What Is then better to use with Xammp:
Windows XP Pro 32 bits or 64 bits version?
My preference at this early stage of the slow progress in 64 bit software is the 32 bit version.
There have been issues with MySQL and 64 bit that may or may not have been addressed...

...but if you like to take a punt or don't mind getting your hands dirty by opening the bonnet and tinkering with the engine, then go for the 64 bit version as some have reported from slight but not massive gains in performance and even that was questionable.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Hacktor » 20. January 2009 23:38

If I understand you not all the parts are 64 bits??? MySQL is for example still 32 bits????
Is this the only one that is 32 bits or are the other components also 32 bits??? Do you know which components are 64 bits and will Xammp ever be totally a 64 bits application???
Hacktor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18. January 2009 16:39

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Izzy » 21. January 2009 00:17

Hacktor wrote:If I understand you not all the parts are 64 bits??? MySQL is for example still 32 bits????
Is this the only one that is 32 bits or are the other components also 32 bits??? Do you know which components are 64 bits and will Xammp ever be totally a 64 bits application???
As far as I know all are 32 bit but should work on a 64 bit OS and only the developers of XAMPP and of course Apache, MySQL, FileZilla, Perl, and Mercury Mail would be able to answer when or if they will be 64 bit apps.
http://www.apachefriends.org/winxampp/win32-compatibility-current.txt

Also a forum search may come up with 64 bit issues other members have perhaps had.

The developer of XAMPP for Windows is Kay Vogelgesang who's contact details are available on the Apache Friends website, a good source of factual information to your questions perhaps.

You could of course use Google or visit the above component websites and make your own enquiries rather than rely on third party opinion.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06


Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Izzy » 21. January 2009 02:03

Thanks for posting back and for all the links that I am sure will help others reading this topic.

The Mercury issue is unfortunate but even an alternative hMailServer may not be 64bit compatible.
hMail Server System Requirements
hMailServer forum 64bit search results

It may be that mail servers that have to deal with other mail exchange servers on OS that are not the same as the originating mail server may all need to be compatible in a 32 bit environment - only a guess of course.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: Configure Apache to work with PHP4 and PHP5

Postby Hacktor » 24. January 2009 18:17

Another pages I found with usefull programs AND drivers for 64 bits systems:
http://www.start64.com/index.php

Maybe Xammp can create a feature Xammp 64 bits package
:) :o :D :lol:
Hacktor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18. January 2009 16:39


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 61 guests