Need helping changing MySQL passwords

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Need helping changing MySQL passwords

Postby fumbling » 16. January 2009 22:48

I'm a newbie using XAMPP 1.7 on Vista. When I go to phpMyAdmin, I get the following warning:

Your configuration file contains settings (root with no password) that correspond to the default MySQL privileged account. Your MySQL server is running with this default, is open to intrusion, and you really should fix this security hole.

I tried following the instructions here to change the password: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8829&p=133186#p133186

But that is a 4-year old topic so not sure it's still valid, or whether I'm doing it right

In any event, I went to Privileges >> Edit User: root (host: localhost) >> Change password. Once there, I entered a new password in both boxes, radio button "password" selected and radio button "MySQL 4.1+" selected, then I clicked "Go."

The result was the following error:

Error
SQL query:

SET PASSWORD FOR 'root'@'[my email address here]' = PASSWORD( '*********' )

MySQL said:

#1133 - Can't find any matching row in the user table

where it reads [my email address here] in the above is my email address. That looks like it could be the problem, because essentially it reads 'root'@[something]@[something].com, which can't be right with two @ symbols I wouldn't think.

Any thoughts? Thanks for any help.
fumbling

Re: Need helping changing MySQL passwords

Postby Izzy » 17. January 2009 01:33

selected and radio button "MySQL 4.1+" selected, then I clicked "Go."
Repeat the process and follow the link instructions below only this time don't select this 4.1+ radio button as we are now into MySQL 5.

This link may be more up to date:
viewtopic.php?p=132897#p132897

BTW is this 1.7.0 a default installation or did you upgrade from an older XAMPP version?
Izzy

Postby fumbling » 17. January 2009 02:08

Thanks for the quick response.