xampp displays incorrectly

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 07. December 2008 22:32

the instructions on the xampp website say to type 'http://localhost/xampp/splash.php' into the browser, then pick a language. When I type the following link into my browser, I get the orange square xampp logo and the name 'xampp' next to it. But it never allows me to select a language. Now what do I do?

Thanks for the help.
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby Sharley » 08. December 2008 00:24

Just type simply http://localhost and it should do the trick for you.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 08. December 2008 08:11

I have done that, and now the directions for installing xampp say that I need to click on "phpMyAdmin" under 'tools'. When I do that I get an error message on another screen saying, "Cannot start session without errors, please check errors given in your PHP and/or webserver log file and configure your PHP installation properly."

Not sure what is going on now.
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby Sharley » 08. December 2008 08:34

.\xampp\apache\logs\error.log file is the file mentioned - open in a text editor.

Take a look and see what clues it may hold.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 08. December 2008 08:54

The browser tab says "<?include('.version');?>" Does that mean anything. I was able to get to phpMyAdmin under components. I think that I do not have phpMyAdmin installed. The only option for me to download is 3.1.1 rc3 and it says for bug fix only. Now what? So sorry I am so lost.
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby Sharley » 08. December 2008 08:58

phpMyAdmin is included in all XAMPP releases.
http://localhost/phpMyAdmin

Look in the folder you installed XAMPP in for the folder phpMyAdmin.

Read the readme_en.txt file for some useful info.

What did the error log file tell you?
Last edited by Sharley on 08. December 2008 09:02, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 08. December 2008 08:59

I couldn't get to it. what is the full address?
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby Sharley » 08. December 2008 09:04

papaalpha wrote:I couldn't get to it. what is the full address?

Use your file manager Explorer and go to where you installed XAMPP - perhaps c:\xampp\
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 08. December 2008 09:11

There are quite a few entries in the error log like:
"[Sun Dec 07 12:54:54 2008] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] PHP Warning: Variable passed to each() is not an array or object in C:\\xampplite\\htdocs\\xampp\\splash.php on line 19"

or
"[Sun Dec 07 22:58:22 2008] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] PHP Warning: session_start() [<a href='function.session-start'>function.session-start</a>]: open(C:\\DOCUME~1\\HP_ADM~1\\LOCALS~1\\Temp\\php\\upload\\sess_92eut85grb42o1fi4lh9v6pp4pbgjs9g, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in C:\\xampplite\\phpMyAdmin\\libraries\\session.inc.php on line 87, referer: http://localhost/xampp/navi.php"

to the latest one
"[Sun Dec 07 23:49:56 2008] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] PHP Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (C:\\DOCUME~1\\HP_ADM~1\\LOCALS~1\\Temp\\php\\upload) in Unknown on line 0, referer: http://localhost/xampp/navi.php"

A vast majority of the errors end in "referer: http://localhost/xampp/navi.php"

I did get two of these also. "[Sun Dec 07 23:36:37 2008] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: C:/xampplite/htdocs/xampp/apache"

Any ideas? By the way, I appreciate your time.
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby Sharley » 08. December 2008 09:26

Sorry, I don't have XamppLite but it looks like you did not run the setup_xampp.bat file to set your paths after unpacking/installing.

Look in the C:\xampplite folder for a file setup_xampp.bat and double click on it or if Vista right click on it and select to run as administrator - then try everything again as it just might fix your issues.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 08. December 2008 09:31

I did that. It says sorry but there is nothing to do. Press any key to continue...

Hmmm. Let me start all over again. I am going to delete everything and download it all over again. I am following installation instructions from xampp, so I don't know what could be going wrong.

Thanks for your time.
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby Sharley » 08. December 2008 09:36

No problem and yes sometimes a new install often fixes some strange errors.

Usually all you need do is download and then unpack the archive to a folder, say C:\xampplite and then run the setup bat file.

Then go to http://localhost and test all the menu items in the left frame of the XAMPP welcome page.

But as I said I have never tried to install or use the lite version but can't be much different to the full version when installing, it just has less features but it should still "run out of the box" like it's big brother.

Good luck
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 08. December 2008 11:24

Okay. I re-downloaded the full version with the installer this time and I got an error for MySQL when the control panel opened. I ran the system32/cmd.exe installer file in the MySQL folder of xampp. In the command line I got an error like "Installing MySQL as an Service
1 file(s) copied.
The service already exists!
The current server installed: C:\xampplite\mysql\bin\mysqld-nt.exe --defaults-fi
le=C:\xampplite\mysql\bin\my.cnf mysql
Try to start the MySQL deamon as service ...
System error 3 has occurred.

The system cannot find the path specified.

Press any key to continue . . ."

Is there a quick fix for this?
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby papaalpha » 08. December 2008 11:50

I received these error messages. Can you help me config php? phpMyAdmin says it will not start will errors at http://localhost
papaalpha
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 07. December 2008 22:27

Re: xampp displays incorrectly

Postby Sharley » 08. December 2008 11:59

We will try now and delete the sticking mysql service.

Go to start on the Task Bar - click on Run... and type in the box:
sc delete mysql
Click OK

This command will remove the mysql service.

Now try and start everything again - let me know if that fixes it.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests