Page 1 of 1

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 300 seconds exceeded

PostPosted: 04. December 2008 02:12
by citabriabob
I have installed XAMPPlite on WinXP Pro SP3 for testing only and seems to work well.

When trying to import a SQL file of about 26mb, dowloaded from Linux server, I get this message:
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 300 seconds exceeded in C:\xampplite\phpMyAdmin\libraries\string_mb.lib.php on line 47

I have already changed several parameters in PHP.INI (in apache\bin\) and was successful in removing the 16mb limit, but not the execution time limit.

Thank you for any help.

Re: Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 300 seconds exceeded

PostPosted: 04. December 2008 02:40
by Sharley
Take a look in .\xampp\phpMyAdmin for config-inc.php file.

Look for this line and adjust as required:
$cfg['ExecTimeLimit'] = 300; // maximum execution time in seconds (0 for no limit)

If your config-inc.php file is small and missing the above line or missing altogether then the file config.default.php in the .\xampp\phpMyAdmin\libraries folder is used.
The line in config-default.php may look similar to this:
Code: Select all
/**
 * maximum execution time in seconds (0 for no limit)
 *
 * @global integer $cfg['ExecTimeLimit']
 */
$cfg['ExecTimeLimit'] = 300;

Copy this file in to the phpMyAdmin main folder and rename it config-inc.php or copy the contents into the existing config-inc.php file and then do your editing in this new file not in the config-default.php file - this procedure makes it easier, as now all phpMyAdmin configs will be in the one place not in 2 locations with one being editable (config-inc.php) and the other not editable (config-default.php).

Re: Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 300 seconds exceeded

PostPosted: 04. December 2008 22:34
by citabriabob
Dear Sharley:

That is GREAT!!! Worked a treat. Thank you ever so much.

Robert

Re: Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 300 seconds exceeded

PostPosted: 08. May 2009 12:44
by Defcon
Thanxs. It help me a lot.