PHPMYADMIN error in XAMPP for windows

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

PHPMYADMIN error in XAMPP for windows

Postby sajiby3k » 18. November 2008 14:48

I am very new to php and mysql. I have installed XAMPP with default option in windows. Everything is working fine php, perl etc.

But i can't access phpmyadmin. When I click phpmyadmin link in the xampp page, i got the following error - Fatal error: Call to undefined function pma_getenv() in C:\xampp\phpMyAdmin\libraries\common.inc.php on line 143". And this error shows up when I try to access the phpmyadmin via opera or firefox browser. But if I try it with Internet Explorer just a blank window comes. Nothing happens.

Pls help to up and run phpmyadmin.
sajiby3k

Postby Sharley » 18. November 2008 23:49

phpMyAdmin and all things in XAMPP should work "out of the box" as this is essentially the intentions of the XAMPP developers.

If it helps I have searched around for a direct answer or fix for that error message but came up blank, so perhaps it may still point to an XAMPP install issue.

Did you set a password for the MySQL\phpMyAdmin user root in the Security page?

Make sure Apache and MySQL are running.

Try this and see if it gets rid of the error message:
1. Click on the Security link in the left column menu on the Welcome Page.
2. Click on the http://localhost/security/xamppsecurity.php link - there may be a delay while it loads.
3. Type in a password and repeat the password for the root user.
4. Make sure Cookie is selected (easier to repeatedly login using a cookie).
5. Click on Password Changing.

Now try phpMyAdmin again - you may have to restart Apache and MySQL - then enter root for user and the password you just set, if you get to the login screen that is.

If that does not work then you may have a corrupted install perhaps, so the best thing to do first would be to completely uninstall XAMPP and then delete the xampp folder...