phpmyadmin

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

phpmyadmin

Postby witham » 09. November 2008 20:02

I hope someone can help me I have added a BLOB field in phpmyadmin but don't seem to have the MIME columns that allow MIME Type and Browser Transformation option. I have searched the online documentation and all the settings in the config file seem to be set to allow this.
witham
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 03. August 2006 21:53

Postby glitzi85 » 10. November 2008 14:38

You don't have this filed while _creating_ the table? What Version of phpMyAdmin are you using?

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby witham » 11. November 2008 10:19

Thanks for your reply, I am using phpMyAdmin - 2.11.9.2
witham
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 03. August 2006 21:53

Postby glitzi85 » 11. November 2008 12:48

OK, i have here 2.11.4, there it is still included. On my 3.0.0 installation it is also missing. Maybe they removed it. Don't know why...

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby witham » 11. November 2008 14:19

This gets stranger I have the exact same version on another PC and the options are available???????
It surely must be a setting somewhere
witham
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 03. August 2006 21:53

Postby glitzi85 » 12. November 2008 12:31

OK, what type of Storage Engine are you using? On my new Installation i am running InnoDB, on XAMPP it is MyISAM. Maybe it is related to this?

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby Wiedmann » 12. November 2008 12:43

On my new Installation i am running InnoDB, on XAMPP it is MyISAM. Maybe it is related to this?

I don't think so, because these columns are phpMyAdmin specific and doesn't exists in MySQL.

but don't seem to have the MIME columns that allow MIME Type

You must setup the phpmyadmin database, including the column comments table, and you must enable these columns in "config.inc.php":
http://wiki.cihar.com/pma/Config#column_info
http://wiki.cihar.com/pma/Config#BrowseMIME
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby witham » 15. November 2008 18:12

Thanks for you reply but which config file? do you mean the one in libraries as the standard config.inc doesn't have these listed?
witham
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 03. August 2006 21:53

Postby Wiedmann » 15. November 2008 18:15

but which config file?

That one from phpMyAdmin. It's name is "condfig.inc.php".
http://wiki.cihar.com/pma/Quick_Install#Manually
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby Sharley » 16. November 2008 00:08

witham wrote:Thanks for you reply but which config file? do you mean the one in libraries as the standard config.inc doesn't have these listed?

In the folder .\xampp\phpMyAdmin there should be a file called config_inc.php

If this file is missing or is a shortened version (compare the file size of the file config_default.php to be copied over below) then you can try the following as this approach is both simple and effective, as I mention below.
It also assures continuity as the default file has been used, in your case exclusively perhaps, up to this point.

Go to .\xampp\phpMyAdmin\libraries and find the file config_default.php

Now copy this file to the phpMyAdmin root folder .\xampp\phpMyAdmin and then rename it to config_inc.php

Now do your phpMyAdmin configuration edits in the newly copied and renamed file - save the file and restart Apache after editing.

phpMyAdmin looks for config_default.php in the phpMyAdmin/libraries folder first then overrides this file with any differences it finds in the config_inc.php file in the phpMyAdmin root folder - if no config-inc.php file is found then phpMyAdmin simply uses the config_default.php file only.

It is advised not to make any edits in the config_default.php file hence the reason to copy over and rename it as I set out above which also simplifies the configuration process by not having to keep checking 2 different configuration files when editing.

I hope this helps to clear up the configuration file issue for you - you should now be able to find the column details for your original request.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby sari42 » 16. November 2008 22:32

no need to copy the whole config.default.php file,
see http://wiki.cihar.com/pma/config.inc.php
sari42
 
Posts: 800
Joined: 27. November 2005 18:28

Postby Sharley » 17. November 2008 00:35

no need to copy the whole config.default.php file...

Sharley wrote:It is advised not to make any edits in the config_default.php file hence the reason to copy over and rename it, as I set out above, which also simplifies the configuration process by not having to keep checking 2 different configuration files...
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby witham » 18. November 2008 21:51

thanks sharley that sorted it out many thanks
witham
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 03. August 2006 21:53


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests