'http://localhost' is blank on clicking Admin in XAMPP panel

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

'http://localhost' is blank on clicking Admin in XAMPP panel

Postby aberry » 02. November 2008 14:55

I installed XAMPP on my Win XP machine 1st time today. After launching XAMPP control panel, clicked Admin button.

1) It is showing 'http://localhost/' in browser address bar, but no content appear on page.
2) when I type 'http://localhost/index.html' in browser and press Enter then it show 'It works', but typing 'http://localhost/index.php' and pressing enter it again show nothing. :(

could any1 tell me whether my installation is faulty (however i did not get any error while XAMPP install) OR I need to do some setting


Thanks,
ab
aberry
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 02. November 2008 14:45
Location: delhi

Re: 'http://localhost' is blank on clicking Admin in XAMPP p

Postby aberry » 04. November 2008 13:54

aberry wrote:I installed XAMPP on my Win XP machine 1st time today. After launching XAMPP control panel, clicked Admin button.

1) It is showing 'http://localhost/' in browser address bar, but no content appear on page.
2) when I type 'http://localhost/index.html' in browser and press Enter then it show 'It works', but typing 'http://localhost/index.php' and pressing enter it again show nothing. :(

could any1 tell me whether my installation is faulty (however i did not get any error while XAMPP install) OR I need to do some setting


Thanks,
ab


No ans :(
I checked access.log in apache folder ....
"GET / HTTP/1.1" 500 -'
Do any1 have any clue .

thnx
ab
aberry
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 02. November 2008 14:45
Location: delhi

Postby Wiedmann » 04. November 2008 14:23

I checked access.log in apache folder ....
"GET / HTTP/1.1" 500 -'

Read the "error.log".
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby aberry » 05. November 2008 10:03

Wiedmann wrote:
I checked access.log in apache folder ....
"GET / HTTP/1.1" 500 -'

Read the "error.log".


Thanks for response...
Here is the error.log contents (It seem everything fine here )
"
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:21 2008] [notice] Apache/2.2.9 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.9 OpenSSL/0.9.8i mod_autoindex_color PHP/5.2.6 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:21 2008] [notice] Server built: Jun 14 2008 19:02:12
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:21 2008] [notice] Parent: Created child process 5852
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:22 2008] [notice] Child 5852: Child process is running
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:22 2008] [notice] Child 5852: Acquired the start mutex.
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:22 2008] [notice] Child 5852: Starting 250 worker threads.
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:22 2008] [notice] Child 5852: Starting thread to listen on port 443.
[Wed Nov 05 14:31:22 2008] [notice] Child 5852: Starting thread to listen on port 80. "
aberry
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 02. November 2008 14:45
Location: delhi

I have the same problem

Postby thirdeie » 06. November 2008 10:29

In case that someone can fix it i would like 2 know
thirdeie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06. November 2008 10:27

Postby glitzi85 » 06. November 2008 19:39

Internal Server Error MUST bring an Error Message in the error.log.

If Apache is running as a service, you can check if you find anything in the Windows Event Log.

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby Sharley » 06. November 2008 23:02

@aberry
Troubleshooting your issue may be quite time consuming and entail many routes.

This is just a stab in the dark but do you have a firewall or a virus scanner, like Symantec's Norton etc., issue here.

Have you set Windows firewall or ZoneAlarm etc. as these can give issues.
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/faq-xam ... html#xpsp2
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/faq-xam ... ml#nostart

Try to temporarily disable your firewall and virus scanner then test again.

Also do you have another web server running, perhaps as a service, or another instance of PHP running (the favoured issue here) because the page "It works" is the standard index.html page, as you pointed out, from the htdocs folder in XAMPP - XAMPP will give a php based Welcome page when all is working correctly but not if Apache is not running it's own instance of PHP.

Stop any other instances of PHP that may be installed by other programs and are accessing via the system path variable - Eclipse perhaps, there may be a php.ini file in the Windows folder that may be a clue, as Apache in XAMPP uses the php.ini file in the apache\bin folder - try renaming any other php.ini files you find, other than those in the .\xampp tree, to php.ini.bak for example, then try again after restarting your XAMPP Apache server.

Find out what is on the ports that XAMPP uses by double clicking on .\xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe
They should all be free...

...but first you would need to stop all XAMPP components by using the stop bat files including running the stop services bat files - Using the bat files eliminates any possible issues with the XAMPP Control Panel.
.\xampp\apache_stop.bat
.\xampp\mysql_stop.bat
.\xampp\apache\apache_uninstallservice_2.2.bat
.\xampp\mysql\mysql_uninstallservice.bat

Tip - using the .\xampp\apache_start.bat file instead of the XAMPP Control Panel will give some good clues if the XAMPP instance of Apache is having problems starting.

So in conclusion, it really does seem to point to a rogue instance of PHP that is preventing the XAMPP instance of PHP from being used.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby aberry » 07. November 2008 15:51

Finally it worked :)
You all guys are genius truly :) esp. Sharley u r Hero.
Thnaks for such detailed reply... it worked :D

Before coming to XAMPP... I tried PHP with IIS earlier. However I uninstalled PHP. But as you point that there may old PHP content in Windows... yes there were some leftover in Windows/PHP folder. on cleaning it worked for me....

once again Thanks to all who replied nd to those even who spent time on looking my concern...
aberry
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 02. November 2008 14:45
Location: delhi

Postby thirdeie » 07. November 2008 17:57

:(( im the only one that cannot fix it
thirdeie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06. November 2008 10:27

Postby Sharley » 07. November 2008 21:47

thirdeie wrote:In case that someone can fix it i would like 2 know...

...im the only one that cannot fix it
You have provided no details of what you are seeing, what you have tried already, what you have changed in any of the configuration files, what OS, what XAMPP version and how you installed it and any error messages you receive.

It is hard for anyone to attempt to troubleshoot your particular issue without this information.

If you have tried all the remedies found on these forums, after searching, then a complete reinstall of XAMPP usually fixes things.

Before uninstalling, follow the instructions in my last post above for stopping all XAMPP components including the XAMPP control panel and uninstalling all XAMPP components running as services using the bat files - then and only then delete the XAMPP folder and re-install XAMPP and my preferred method is to download and extract the 7Zip version.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests