Changed the server name and now website not available

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Changed the server name and now website not available

Postby jacortijo » 30. October 2008 08:35

Hi,

I just had to change the computer name where XAMPP was running and after restart, everything looks fine in the server but from a workstation I always get a blank page.

do I have to set up something in the registry or something?

many thanks.

Jose
jacortijo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20. March 2008 07:20

Postby glitzi85 » 30. October 2008 15:04

Did you change anything in the httpd.conf?
Did you change anything in the hosts-File?
How do you request the Website from the Workstation (what URL)?

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

still problems

Postby jacortijo » 31. October 2008 06:22

Hi glitzi
thanks for the reply. I just uninstall xampp and reinstalled again and still have the same problems. locally I access to everything and from a workstation not.
in the http.conf there is not any reference to the computer name. but anyway I didnt change anything, I keep the old one.
about the hosts-file?
still the same too with this lines. alias in DNS server pointing to the server.

127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.0.1 reserve
127.0.0.1 danway
127.0.0.1 drivers
127.0.0.1 glpi

from worksation I just type
danway
and it goes to the server which has the vhost configured as well.

<VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot E:/xampp/htdocs/danway1.0.15
ServerName danway
</VirtualHost>

really I am totally lost....

Best regards,
Jose
jacortijo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20. March 2008 07:20

Postby glitzi85 » 31. October 2008 15:53

OK, please post the output of this commands:

From the Server:
Code: Select all
ipconfig /all


From the Workstation:
Code: Select all
nslookup danway


Do have a Firewall running on the Server machine?

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

still problems

Postby jacortijo » 03. November 2008 09:26

Hi,
here you have
having this in apache vhosts
<VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot E:/xampp/htdocs/danway1.0.15
ServerName danway2
</VirtualHost>

hosts file
127.0.0.1 danway2

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Server Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-23-A8-C8-9A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.18.169.5
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.18.169.254
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.18.168.5
172.18.168.3

from a workstation
C:\Documents and Settings\cortijo>nslookup danway2
Server: delchnpek-ex001.delchnpek.delegations.cec.eu.int
Address: 172.18.168.3

Name: delchnpek-ap001.delchnpek.delegations.cec.eu.int
Address: 172.18.169.5
Aliases: danway2.delchnpek.delegations.cec.eu.int

so , I think I reach the server but I still get a blank page...

pd: firewall is also disabled in the server...
jacortijo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 20. March 2008 07:20


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests