Help With Xampp/No-Ip/ & Viewing Webpage Online

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Help With Xampp/No-Ip/ & Viewing Webpage Online

Postby MurderousOne » 29. October 2008 05:29

Im Having A Problem With Xampp & Not Sure If My Website Is Accessible Outside Of My Network.... I Installed Xampp... I Set Up A No-Ip Domain Name Using My External IP That Was Automatically Detected... I Port Forwarded All Ports Listed For Xammp In My Belkin Router To The Machine With Xampp Installed. 80,443,81 Etc.,I Also Added My External IP # To The Apache httpd File...Installed The No-Ip DUC Download... & Firewall Is Disabled & I Added All Ports Listed To The Exeptions List Just In Case...

Im Able To View My Webpage With http://localhost/ Or By Entering My Internal IP http://192.168.2.14/ & External IP http://68.199.125.114/ & Also Able To View My Page With The No-Ip Domain Name I Created Which Is http://mgnyc.no-ip.biz

The Test Site I Created Is Up & Running Fine On My Systems Connected To My Network & Im Able To View By Clicking Any OF The Links I Posted Above.... No Problem's There.. :lol:

Now Here My Problem... :x

I Sent The No-Ip Domain Name To A Friend... So He Can View My Page... He's Also Interested In Created A Webserver... He Says He Is Unable To View My Webpage....

I Personally Went To My Friends House & Tried Viewing My Site @ My Brother's House & Nothing.... Just Your Basic Blank Internet Page...

MY ISP Doesnt Block Port 80 & Recommends That I Use This Port To Run A Webserver Without Violation My TOS. (Terms Of Service (Optimum Online)... If I Change The Port To Any Other Like 8080 I Will Violate My TOS Of My ISP So I Havent ...

How Can I Tell If My Webserver Is Online Or What Am I Doin Wrong.??? Can Anyone Help Please... Ive Been @ This Now For Months.... :cry: Reply If You Can View It Or Help In Anyway... It Just A Test Site To Get Me Started Into Developing... Thanks In Advance...
MurderousOne
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. October 2008 04:30

Postby Sharley » 29. October 2008 05:48

Just tested and it would seem your FTP is accessible but not your web server on the mgnyc.no-ip.biz domain you posted.

To help with your testing use this web site:
http://centralops.net/co/
I used Domain Dossier with all the boxes checked to test your site.

It will allow you to see what is and is not running and what your domain and it's related IP is all about - this will save you hassling your mates every time you want to test your site with any changes you make.

...I Also Added My External IP # To The Apache httpd File...

Instead of entering your IP in the httpd.conf file use a wild card:
Listen *.80

BTW, in your case it may be advisable to search these forums for vhost and check out .\xampp\apache\conf\extra\https-vhosts.conf file for some examples rather than keep messing in the servers master configuration file - much easier for upkeep and also allows you to setup sub domains and give specific permissions etc to individual folders in your web root tree apart from having the ability to easily serve multiple domains from the same server.


If you are having trouble with your httpd.conf file after editing, paste it here so it can be looked at.

Use .\xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe to verify your server is available on the correct ports after starting all your XAMPP components.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby MurderousOne » 29. October 2008 09:12

Sharley wrote:Just tested and it would seem your FTP is accessible but not your web server on the mgnyc.no-ip.biz domain you posted.

To help with your testing use this web site:
http://centralops.net/co/
I used Domain Dossier with all the boxes checked to test your site.

It will allow you to see what is and is not running and what your domain and it's related IP is all about - this will save you hassling your mates every time you want to test your site with any changes you make.

...I Also Added My External IP # To The Apache httpd File...

Instead of entering your IP in the httpd.conf file use a wild card:
Listen *.80

BTW, in your case it may be advisable to search these forums for vhost and check out .\xampp\apache\conf\extra\https-vhosts.conf file for some examples rather than keep messing in the servers master configuration file - much easier for upkeep and also allows you to setup sub domains and give specific permissions etc to individual folders in your web root tree apart from having the ability to easily serve multiple domains from the same server.


If you are having trouble with your httpd.conf file after editing, paste it here so it can be looked at.

Use .\xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe to verify your server is available on the correct ports after starting all your XAMPP components.


Thanks For The Website... Its Very Usefull.. I Took Some Snap Shots Of My Httpd Config File & Also Of My DYDNS Setup & Also My Router Port Forwarding... I Also Removed My No-IP Domain Due to The Fact I Could Not Find Its Wildcard Feature...

Maybe You Can Point Out What Im Doin Wrong Here... Pretty Sure Its A Basic Configuration Problem Somewhere That I Havent Noticed... Never Really Set Up A Server Before... Paid A Hosting Company For My Last One & It Was Configured Allready.... I Basically Want To Get This Site Online Be4 I Add Any Permissions 2 The Different Directory's & So On.. i removed all my content & re-installed it so its just the basic xampp default page now....

Here's My HTTPD
Image

Here's My DYDNS Account.
Image

Heres My Belking Router
Image

if you need any other photo's to help me out just ask & ill post... darn thing is giving me a headache :cry: & i really do appreciate the help... thanks again.... :D
Last edited by MurderousOne on 29. October 2008 22:30, edited 1 time in total.
MurderousOne
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. October 2008 04:30

Postby Sharley » 29. October 2008 10:20

Good reply but do you think you could resize the images as they are much too big width wise (I hate horizontal scrolling in a forum, don't you?) and try and reduce the resolution a bit so they take up less bandwidth - thanks.


Try and return your httpd.conf file to it's original if you can then make a backup of it before making any of the edits below.



Listen *.80 is correct

For now you will need to change the ServerName to your actual domain name:
Servername mgnyc.no-ip.biz:80 or nyc.game-host.org which ever is the domain for your server now.

(Normally this should be ServerName localhost:80 and then you would create a virtualhost container for your domain mgnyc.no-ip.biz in the httpd_vhost.conf file - by configuring your domain in the httpd.conf file you loose the XAMPP localhost Admin pages).

DocumentRoot "C:/x/htdocs/yoursite"

Your Directory should be where your mgnyc.no-ip.biz web site is located and the same as the docroot.
<Directory "C:/x/htdocs/yoursite/>

Also add this to your Windows HOSTS file:
68.199.125.114 mgnyc.no-ip.biz (or nyc.game-host.org)

To test your httpd.conf file for any errors open a command console in C:\xampp\apache\bin folder then type in this command:
apache -t

It will return any errors it finds.

Also look in the apache error.log file for any errors that may be happening at the server.

Don't know much about port forwarding but port 80/81 is different to all the others that are, for example 3306/3306 ie. the same - is that correct that port 80 has port 81 next to it?


Try that and the images fix and let me know how it goes. We may be able to help with the vhost if you get the above edits to work.
Last edited by Sharley on 29. October 2008 12:38, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby Nobbie » 29. October 2008 11:59

Change in Router for Xampp the Inbound Port from 80-81 to 80-80 (you dont need 81), and same for Private Port.

Also change Type from TCPUDP to TCP (you dont need UDP).

What I dont understand, in your first post you stated that you reserved the domain mgnyc.no-ip.biz (which i even cannot ping!), but in your screen shots I see the domain nyc.game-host.org? I can ping the DynDNS domain, but i cannot reach it via Browser (HTTP).
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests