Several error messages on install - please help

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Several error messages on install - please help

Postby arjay1 » 27. October 2008 17:28

Hi everyone.

I thought it sounded to good to be true. The website says "just download and install and off you go!" I wish it was this easy!!

On this PC I am running win 2000 which is uptodate with all latest releases. I downloaded the installer version of xampp. I ran install and chose all services. I got two errors:

"Apache 2.2 service failed, Port 80 or 443 SSL already in use" and
"Filezilla service FTPD failed, Port 21 already in use.

I searched in this forum and found a possible solution which said that it was probably port 443 not 80 that was the problem. I don't need ssl so I commented out "Include /conf/extra/httpd-ssl-conf" in the httpd.conf file.

I started the xampp control panel which showed mysql running OK. I tried to click on Admin opposite apache and immediately began to get the same error message every few seconds: "Access violation at address ***** in module libMYSQL.dll" I had to kill the control panel to stop them

I have found and run the portcheck utility. It shows Apache HTTP on Port 80, Apache HTTPS on 443 and Mysql on 3306.

Not sure where to go now. I will go on searching elsewhere for info as well. I really want to get this going as I need to check my website on my local PC, and then take the pc to to do demonstrations at places without internet connections.

Can you help please. (BTW as you will have guessed by now - I am only a newbie at this stuff)

TIA

Richard
arjay1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 27. October 2008 16:44

Postby Wiedmann » 27. October 2008 17:56

I have found and run the portcheck utility. It shows ..., Apache HTTPS on 443.

It really shows Apache on 443?

Because of:
I don't need ssl so I commented out "Include /conf/extra/httpd-ssl-conf" in the httpd.conf file.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby arjay1 » 27. October 2008 19:00

Wiedmann wrote:
I have found and run the portcheck utility. It shows ..., Apache HTTPS on 443.

It really shows Apache on 443?

Because of:
I don't need ssl so I commented out "Include /conf/extra/httpd-ssl-conf" in the httpd.conf file.


Yes - I have run portcheck again and it is exactly as my previous post. Do I have to shut something down or whatever to get it to recognise the changes I made in httpd.conf? (I did shut down the xampp control panel, but I wonder if something is still running in the background?)

Richard
arjay1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 27. October 2008 16:44

Postby Wiedmann » 27. October 2008 19:07

Do I have to shut something down or whatever to get it to recognise the changes I made in httpd.conf?

You must restart Apache.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby arjay1 » 27. October 2008 20:21

Wiedmann wrote:
Do I have to shut something down or whatever to get it to recognise the changes I made in httpd.conf?

You must restart Apache.


Thanks for the advice - I am away from the PC that has xampp install on it. I will have to try tomorrow morning.

Thanks again

Richard
arjay1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 27. October 2008 16:44

Postby arjay1 » 28. October 2008 10:22

arjay1 wrote:
Wiedmann wrote:
Do I have to shut something down or whatever to get it to recognise the changes I made in httpd.conf?

You must restart Apache.


Thanks for the advice - I am away from the PC that has xampp install on it. I will have to try tomorrow morning.

Thanks again

Richard


Well I rebooted the PC and I still get the libmodule error I described above. I have checked with portcheck and Apache HTTP is still shown as Port 80 and HTTPS is still shown as 443. The change I made in httpd.conf (following advice in this forum) is shown below. I commented out the ssl line:

# Secure (SSL/TLS) connections
# Include conf/extra/httpd-ssl.conf

I have also downloaded and installed xampp on another PC that has Win XP (unlike this one which has win 2000) on it.

This time, after install all seems to be OK in that both apache and mysql services are said to be running. However, if I click on the Admin button next to Apache I get the same error as above - a stream of error messages every 2-3 seconds saying that there is a lib module error. The dialogue says it is from "WINMysqlAdmin 1.4". I then have to kill all the processes in connection with the control panel before I can use the PC again. (A lot of traffic light icons appear in the systray and have to be killed individually?)

Am I doing something wrong by clicking on the admin button next to mysql? This is very frustrating as I have been messing about for two days now just trying to get to a position where I can view my website on a local PC.

I feel a bit stupid!! Everyone else seems to find this software dead easy to use - but not me. I am not very experienced in this sort of software but pretty useful around computers generally. I run a 5 PC home network of mixed linux and Windows PCs, oh and 3 websites so can't be that bad but this has got me very confused <g>.

EDIT: sorry should have added that when using win xp I can get the xampp for windows page by clicking on the Admin button opposite apache. It is the admin button next to mysql that cause the error messages. In win 2000 I still can't start apache properly. If I click to use the service and then click start, it says under status that the service has started, but the Admin button stays greyed out?


RJ
arjay1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 27. October 2008 16:44

Postby Wiedmann » 28. October 2008 13:31

Well I rebooted the PC and I still get the libmodule error I described above.

Well, that's another problem and have nothing to do with Apache:
The dialogue says it is from "WINMysqlAdmin 1.4".

Don't use this program and also remove it from the autostart group.

Code: Select all
# Secure (SSL/TLS) connections
# Include conf/extra/httpd-ssl.conf

I have checked with portcheck and Apache HTTP is still shown as Port 80 and HTTPS is still shown as 443.

Can we see the output from portcheck?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby arjay1 » 28. October 2008 14:05

Wiedmann wrote:
Well I rebooted the PC and I still get the libmodule error I described above.

Well, that's another problem and have nothing to do with Apache:
The dialogue says it is from "WINMysqlAdmin 1.4".

Don't use this program and also remove it from the autostart group.

Code: Select all
# Secure (SSL/TLS) connections
# Include conf/extra/httpd-ssl.conf

I have checked with portcheck and Apache HTTP is still shown as Port 80 and HTTPS is still shown as 443.

Can we see the output from portcheck?


Thanks so much for your help. I have removed xampp from my win 2000 PC so that I could try wampserver instead. So I can't try your advice on that PC.


However, I still have xampp on a win XP box. I removed WINmysql from the startup and this has allowed me to start xampp normally. I discovered that it runs automatically if you click on the Admin button next to mysql in xampp control panel.

It has also allowed apache to start correctly and portcheck now shows apache on 80 and 443 is now free.


I will now copy my website files to the win xp machine and let you know if I can run things as a local sever.

Thanks again


Richard
arjay1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 27. October 2008 16:44

Postby EnglishRocker » 04. November 2008 19:58

On one particular pc I know the ethernet driver installed a 'network manager' which uses Apache.
I'm guessing that I would not be able to run xampp while the 'network manager' is running.
Check to see whether you have any old or rogue installs.
EnglishRocker
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 12. September 2008 11:07


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ben.mansuk, JJ_Tagy and 55 guests