cannot connect through localhost

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

cannot connect through localhost

Postby tonym » 23. October 2008 19:24

Hi all.
installed xampp on my laptop using the installer on windows vista 32bit, with all updates installed
netgear router uses 192.168.0.1
I cannot access xammp using localhost, I can access xammp using 127.0.0.1 or 192.168.0.3 which is laptop.

can any one help with info on setting it up to connect on localhost
tonym
User avatar
tonym
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 15. February 2004 21:39

Postby Wiedmann » 23. October 2008 19:25

Remove "::1" from your HOSTS file.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby tonym » 23. October 2008 20:09

Wiedmann wrote:Remove "::1" from your HOSTS file.


Forgive my ignorance, but at the age of 61 and doing a search, i am having trouble finding where the hosts file is situated.
tonym
User avatar
tonym
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 15. February 2004 21:39

Postby tonym » 23. October 2008 21:03

tonym wrote:
Wiedmann wrote:Remove "::1" from your HOSTS file.


Forgive my ignorance, but at the age of 61 and doing a search, i am having trouble finding where the hosts file is situated.


Found it at last, will give it a try,,,,,
tonym
User avatar
tonym
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 15. February 2004 21:39

Postby Wiedmann » 23. October 2008 21:04

Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby tonym » 23. October 2008 21:09

Many thanks Wiedmann, that works :D :D :D
tonym
User avatar
tonym
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 15. February 2004 21:39

Postby thirdeie » 09. November 2008 11:25

how do i remove ::1 from hosts file?
i dont see no ::1
thirdeie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06. November 2008 10:27

Postby Wiedmann » 09. November 2008 14:08

i dont see no ::1

Then you can't remove it, if you don't have it in that file ;-)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby Nobbie » 09. November 2008 15:50

You must have a line like

Code: Select all
127.0.0.1 localhost


in your host-File.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Postby thirdeie » 09. November 2008 18:15

my problem is that i cannot access even 127.0.0.1, not speaking of localhost
thirdeie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 06. November 2008 10:27


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests