Xampp dont start, cant delete httpd.pid

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Xampp dont start, cant delete httpd.pid

Postby kelapa » 07. October 2008 06:32

I use xampp for 2 years, everithing oke.
But 2 weeks ago, when i start, it dont wont to start. It has warning like this

access to 'apache.exe' is denied
cannot delete the httpd.pid

you can see it here
http://www.id-joomla.com/component/opti ... /catid,11/


Please help me
kelapa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07. October 2008 06:20
Location: medan

Postby Sharley » 07. October 2008 08:13

From your error message image, which is very hard to read, it looks like you have another program running on port 80 which Apache needs exclusively.

"could not bind to an address 0.0.0.0:80"
is the bit that tells me that you may have something else running on port 80 and Apache will not run if there is some thing else using port 80.

Did you install Skype perhaps?

Go to xampp folder and run xampp-portcheck.exe and see what is running on port 80, then stop what ever it is and try start Apache again.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby kelapa » 08. October 2008 06:28

No, I dont install skype. But, as long as i remember, before i had trouble with xampp, i unintall norton2006 and then i install avg. Is it affect ?

Or maybe the cause is sometihing else?

Sorry for my bad english, i am an indonesian
kelapa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07. October 2008 06:20
Location: medan

Postby Sharley » 08. October 2008 07:01

Your English is just fine and easily understood.

Are you having problems understanding my replies?
Sharley wrote:Go to xampp folder and run xampp-portcheck.exe and see what is running on port 80, then stop what ever it is and try start Apache again.

Make sure that all xampp components are stopped including any that run as a service.
Now, what do you see when you double click on xampp-portcheck.exe ?

Here is what I see when I run xampp-portcheck.exe with no xampp components running at all:
Code: Select all
RESULT
------

Service              Port   Status
==============================================================================
Apache (HTTP)          80   free
Apache (WebDAV)        81   free
Apache (HTTPS)        443   free

MySQL                3306   free

FileZilla (FTP)        21   free
FileZilla (Admin)   14147   free

Mercury (SMTP          25   free
Mercury (POP3)         110  free
Mercury (IMAP)         143  free

Press <Return> to continue.

They should all be free and we can't move on until this is established.

Tip
If you want to copy and paste the results from the port check window, here's how:
You will see a little icon top left of the window title bar.

Right click on the icon for a context menu.

Select Edit from the context menu.

Select Mark to highlight the text for copying.

Drag the little white cursor bar over what you want to copy.

When you are happy with the text for copying go back to the context menu.

Select Copy.

Now go back to the forum reply text box and select Code from the text box menu items.

Put your cursor after the code tag then right click again for a context menu and select Paste.

Close the Code tag.

Job done.

This little tip applies to all command console windows.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Cant see

Postby kelapa » 09. October 2008 05:54

I cant see xampp port .exe. Because when i clik it, it just show for milisecond and then gone. How to see it?Any help would be apreciated
kelapa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07. October 2008 06:20
Location: medan

Postby Sharley » 09. October 2008 06:51

Click on start bottom left of the Windows Task Bar

Click on Run...

Type cmd

A Command Console window will open.

At the prompt type cd \

You should now see C:\>

Type the location of your xampp folder example if it is C:\xampp:
cd xampp

You should now see this if your xampp folder is in c:\xampp

C:\xampp>

Now type xampp-portcheck.exe

Another Command Console window opens with the information similar to what I pasted above. Follow the instruction in my post to copy and paste the results if you are not sure what to do.


BTW You can delete you other post as double posting is seen to be bad forum etiquette.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby kelapa » 09. October 2008 15:00

I did , but xampp-portcheck.exe is show up but only in milisecond, so i cant see anything.
Any sugestion?
kelapa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07. October 2008 06:20
Location: medan

Postby glitzi85 » 09. October 2008 16:39

As the xampp-portcheck.exe starts in a separate window, the solution from Sharley could not work. Try this:

Start -> Run -> cmd

Now enter this command:

Code: Select all
netstat -anbp TCP


and post the output here.

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby Sharley » 10. October 2008 00:19

glitzi85 wrote:As the xampp-portcheck.exe starts in a separate window, the solution from Sharley could not work...
Incorrect.

Before I post a reply I test and make sure my instructions do indeed work on my XAMPP installation.
Sharley wrote:Now type xampp-portcheck.exe

Another Command Console window opens...

The OP kelapa has indeed an issue with displaying xampp-portcheck.exe in a command console window and the question now is why?

kelapa, what Operating System are you using?
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby glitzi85 » 10. October 2008 00:40

Sharley wrote:
glitzi85 wrote:As the xampp-portcheck.exe starts in a separate window, the solution from Sharley could not work...
Incorrect.

I did not mean that it will not work generally. I wanted to say that it is impossible that it can work on kelapas Computer.
The xampp-portcheck.exe is not a batch file (at least not a DOS-Batch), in this case there is no difference between open it from an Explorer Window and from the command line. If the window stays not open by double click, it is fairly sure that it will not stay open from command line either.

It seems like the portcheck script dies before the Readkey-Operation takes place. Never seen this problem. The OS of kelapa would be interesting. Maybe Wiedmann can give a hint what it could be.

However, the output of netstat is not as nice as the output from the portcheck program, but it should work.

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby Sharley » 10. October 2008 02:34

For those reading this thread and are interested in what xampp-portcheck.exe is then it is a WinRAR archive (open with WinRar) containing 3 items:
checkports.vbs - a visual basic script written by XAMPP developer Kirsten Wiedmann.
openports.exe - explained bellow.
openport.txt - an openports readme file.

Those familiar with vb script can quite clearly see how this xampp-portcheck.exe file operates to present the final port information results.

xampp-portcheck.exe provides a link which is incorrect and will give a 404 Not Found error - the link should be edited and the correct link displayed:
http://www.diamondcs.com.au/consoletools/openports.php

portcheck.exe is freeware and can be downloaded from the above link.

So in conclusion, if your system is balking at running vb scripts or executable files from a command console window then you will not be able to use xampp-portcheck.exe for it's intended purpose and so the use of the netstat.exe file included in the Windows folder would have to suffice.

You should then most certainly investigate why your system is not performing as it should.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Postby glitzi85 » 10. October 2008 15:51

@Sharley:

Thanks, the hint with unzipping was very good.

The name of the developer ist Carsten Wiedmann, not Kirsten ;-)

glitzi
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby kelapa » 18. October 2008 06:37

Code: Select all
Your port 80 is actually used by :

Server: Apache/2.2.6 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.6 OpenSSL/0.9.8e mod_autoindex_co
lor PHP/5.2.4


Press Enter to exit...



Its who use port 80. Now, what to do with that?
kelapa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07. October 2008 06:20
Location: medan

Postby Sharley » 18. October 2008 09:55

You could try this to clear the instance of apache already running on port 80:

Click on Run... from the Start menu.
Type sc delete apache 2.2
Click OK

Now try and start Apache again.

From one of your other post you say you are now using WAMP but this is not the WAMP forum it is the XAMPP for Windows forum.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests