How to get PHP to run

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

How to get PHP to run

Postby Murph » 01. October 2008 08:41

Hi. Excuse me that i dont speak German. I am new to Apache and i have installed it on my computer as i was giving the link to apachefriends. The instruction say i should run the php files in htdocs folder of the php folder. There is a index.php to try out. But when i double click on it it just asks me to save the file (it doesn't recognise the php file extension).

What i am doing wrong. Hope someone can help.

Gerry
Murph
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. September 2008 18:51

Postby Wiedmann » 01. October 2008 08:52

There is a index.php to try out. But when i double click on it it just asks me to save the file (it doesn't recognise the php file extension).

You can't double click a PHP file. Yuo must open them with "http://localhost/filename.php" in a webbrowser.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby Murph » 01. October 2008 10:07

Hi,
thank for your reply. But i still don't know how to do that. I tried opening it with IE7 but it still asks me to save the file. Do i have to install PHP. Was that not done when i installed XAMPP.

Hope you can help.

Gerry
Murph
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. September 2008 18:51

Postby Wiedmann » 01. October 2008 10:22

I tried opening it with IE7

How exactly?

BTW:
Was that not done when i installed XAMPP.

You have read " readme_en.txt"?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby ospx » 01. October 2008 10:24

I guess, you forgot to start your xampp first.
ospx
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 13. December 2006 19:24

Postby glitzi85 » 01. October 2008 12:08

ospx wrote:I guess, you forgot to start your xampp first.

I guess, then he would get the error message that his browser can not connect to the server 8)
User avatar
glitzi85
 
Posts: 1920
Joined: 05. March 2004 23:26
Location: Dahoim

Postby Murph » 01. October 2008 13:49

Thanks for your help. I didn't read readme.txt and didn't realise that you have to type http://localhost before the php file would work. It works now. Thanks a mil! Apologis for silly question.

Regards,
Gerry
Murph
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 30. September 2008 18:51


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests