Page 1 of 1

VHOSTS over Vista LAN - works on local srvr, no other PCs

PostPosted: 08. July 2008 01:50
by MTCreations
Vhosts setup working great on local machine - lots of projects, all come up on local server box (192.168.0.5) no problem.

NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName localhost
DocumentRoot "c:/xampp/htdocs"

</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName lc.projectAt.com
DocumentRoot "c:/xampp/htdocs/projectAt/code"
ErrorLog logs/lc.projectA.com.error.log
CustomLog logs/lc.projectAt.com.access.log combined
</VirtualHost>


ex: lc.projectA.com. lc.projectB.com - all work fine (lc instead of www is my way of noting local version during development.

Problem is trying to get 2 other PCs (Win Vista boxes) to see/recognize the projects via browser. (trying to move from 1 box development environment to a 1 server, 2 dev edit boxes)

I put hosts file on Vista box in proper location (vista ip is set 192.168.0.8)
c:\windows\server32\drivers\etc\hosts

192.168.0.5 lc.projectA.com
192.168.0.5 lc.projectB.com
192.168.0.5 lc.projectC.com
etc

In fact, hosts file is same on all machines, so that they all point to same IP for each project.

Lovely, but does not work. Server machine, works, but not across LAN.

Disabled firewalls on both machines (vista and server)- getting 'problem loading page - taking too long to respond' error.

What am I not seeing here - I read so many posts on this and other forums, tried to set things up exactly as posted, and yet can't get the sites to come up.

PostPosted: 08. July 2008 01:59
by Milligan

Not to be ungrateful, but...

PostPosted: 08. July 2008 03:58
by MTCreations
the aforementioned thread was not helpful.

I have spent three days of unpaid, unbillable time trying to get this all to work. I am desperate, and willing to pay money for a real solution.

I may sound like a jerk, but I am a nice person who is beyond stressed at this time. I NEED this to all work, so I can get back TO work on paying projects.

PostPosted: 08. July 2008 04:41
by Milligan

PostPosted: 09. July 2008 15:33
by LooseCannon
Hi MTCreations.

Have you got something like "::1 localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback" in the host files on the Vista PCs? I'm not sure how your XAMPP likes or dislikes ip6. Comment it out to see if it helps.

And may I thank Milligan on your behalf for trying to help? ;)