Port 80 in use?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Port 80 in use?

Postby xa0s » 21. May 2008 07:23

I'm trying to install Apache on my Vista box (I know, I know). It's saying port 80 is in use.

I thought at first it could be IIS, but I can't find that on Vista.

I haven't got Skype either (which is meant to be common for hogging port 80).

Apache won't let me start it as a service as it's in use.

I tried Microsoft's PULIST, but I couldn't get that to work on Vista either.

Is there anyway to see what application/service is using which port, if they're only listening? I want to stop it from listening so I can start Apache as a service. I've done this thousands of times on XP...

Completely baffled. :|
Posts: 1
Joined: 21. May 2008 02:09

Postby daveed » 21. May 2008 14:25

Have you tried xampp-portcheck in the xampp install directory?
Posts: 8
Joined: 18. May 2008 23:35

Postby admindell » 29. May 2008 14:14

try this,

uninstall xampp, then check all posrts then check your fire wall settings

but DUH

if your running IIS XAMPP WILL not RUN

so turn off iis then install xampp..

if u need more help post reply in this topic and then some one can help
User avatar
Posts: 28
Joined: 28. May 2008 16:35

Postby antoniozacca » 01. June 2008 07:17

Hi i got the same problem! ive jujst downloaded XAMPP and installed this morning. port 80 is open,firewalls are stoped but only apache refuse starting coz of port 80 other server and db are propery working i feel
ummm i have no idea for apache! i work on WinXP SP2 you can give
me advice and many thanx for help
Posts: 1
Joined: 01. June 2008 06:55

Postby LooseCannon » 02. June 2008 11:54

Just in case it helps...

I believe Skype uses port 80. No idea how/if the port check would determine this.
User avatar
Posts: 162
Joined: 18. September 2007 12:07
Location: Hampshire, UK

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests