Ports 80 or 443

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Ports 80 or 443

Postby rudy_montigny@yahoo.com » 02. May 2008 12:26

After installation I get the following message:
"Ports 80 or 443 (SSL) already in use! Installing Apache service failed"
What do I need to do to make it work?
rudy_montigny@yahoo.com
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02. May 2008 12:20

Postby Nobbie » 02. May 2008 12:49

Which OS?

Find out, which programs are already running and occupie the ports 80 and 443. Looks like there is already a webserver running.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Postby rudy_montigny@yahoo.com » 02. May 2008 16:10

Thanks. It was Skype that did it.
rudy_montigny@yahoo.com
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02. May 2008 12:20

Re: Ports 80 or 443

Postby Nigelino » 26. December 2008 18:21

Thanks guys. I had exactly this problem! Must tell Skype to change!
Nigelino
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26. December 2008 18:19

Re: Ports 80 or 443

Postby ankur.vyas » 28. December 2008 07:45

What did you change your Skype settings to? if you disabled ports 80 and 443
ankur.vyas
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 28. December 2008 07:20

Re: Ports 80 or 443

Postby Sharley » 28. December 2008 08:17

ankur.vyas wrote:What did you change your Skype settings to? if you disabled ports 80 and 443
You can use any port in the Dynamic and/or Private Ports range - those from 49152 through 65535 so take your pick.

Skype only uses port 80 by default and that is the only port you need to change in Skype's Connections tab - 443 is allocated to SSL and has nothing to do with Skype.
IANA wrote:https 443 tcp - http protocol over TLS/SSL
https 443 udp - http protocol over TLS/SSL
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests