Move from Foxserv to Xampp

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Move from Foxserv to Xampp

Postby dec913 » 17. April 2008 12:25

Having previously run a server set up using Foxserv, I deceided to set up the new replacement machine with Xampp. However, I am having a little problem with Virtual Hosts. These work under Foxserv, but using the same settings (chaning the directory structure of course), they don't run. Also if I attempt to access the the website directory directly on the internal network (ie. 192.168.0.50\websitename) it does not find it, although without the explist reference it will go to the main site on server. Any thoughs....????
:cry:
dec913
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 17. April 2008 12:19

Postby Wiedmann » 17. April 2008 12:43

Any thoughs....????

You are making something wrong.....

but using the same settings (chaning the directory structure of course), they don't run.

Well, without knowing your config, nobody can really help you.

Also if I attempt to access the the website directory directly on the internal network (ie. 192.168.0.50\websitename) it does not find it,

Doesn't find what: Directory or server?
- exact error message?
- error log?
- your DocumentRoot?
- Path of this directory on your hd?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby dec913 » 17. April 2008 12:58

Good point.

I have added the following details into the httpd-vhosts file, these details are as per the previous Foxserv install, but with the directory names change to the correct ones on the new machine:

NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@dayfieldgraphics.co.uk
DocumentRoot "c:/xampp/htdocs/DFG-Live"
ServerName dayfieldgraphics.co.uk
ServerAlias www.dayfieldgraphics.co.uk
ErrorLog logs/dayfieldgraphics-error_log.txt
CustomLog logs/dayfieldgraphics-access_log.txt common
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@dayfieldgraphics.co.uk
DocumentRoot ".\xampp\htdocs\redshoesdance"
ServerName redshoesdance.co.uk
ServerAlias www.redshoesdance.co.uk
ErrorLog logs/redshoesdance-error_log.txt
CustomLog logs/redshoesdance-access_log.txt common
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@petzoncanvas.co.uk
DocumentRoot "c:/xampp/htdocs/petzoncanvas"
ServerName petzoncanvas.co.uk
ServerAlias www.petzoncanvas.co.uk
ErrorLog logs/petzoncanvas-error_log.txt
CustomLog logs/petzoncanvas-access_log.txt common
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@excalibursac.co.uk
DocumentRoot "c:/xampp/htdocs/excaliburSAC"
ServerName excalibursac.co.uk
ServerAlias www.excalibursac.co.uk
ErrorLog logs/excalibursac-error_log.txt
CustomLog logs/excalibursac-access_log.txt common
</VirtualHost>

When I restart Apache with these changes made, if I access the machine localy via the IP, it arrives at the DFG-Live website (www.dayfieldgraphics.co.uk), which is the main one on the server.

If I attempt to access one of the other using the following for example:

192.168.0.50/excalibursac

I receive the URL not found message. I know it will be something very simple, but I just can not see it!

Once these changes are in the file, if I attempt to access the Xampp Admin, via the Control Panel, it takes me to the www.dayfieldgraphics.co.uk index page?

I can post the httpd and httpd-vhost if it helps, I've got myself lost with it this morning!
dec913
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 17. April 2008 12:19

Postby Wiedmann » 17. April 2008 13:08

If I attempt to access one of the other using the following for example:
192.168.0.50/excalibursac

a) With an IP, you can only access the first VHost of a NameVirtualHost set.
b) "excalibursac" is not a subdirectory of the DocumentRoot from your 1st. VHost. And so: Not found.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby dec913 » 17. April 2008 13:12

Brilliant thats working. Thanks for that.

The admin button on the control panel still takes me to the dayfield site, which is the first one is that correct?
dec913
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 17. April 2008 12:19

Postby dec913 » 17. April 2008 13:15

Further to my last, also don't seem to be able to access phpmyadmin, if it attempt to connect via http://localhost/phpmyadmin

????
dec913
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 17. April 2008 12:19

Postby Wiedmann » 17. April 2008 13:19

The admin button on the control panel still takes me to the dayfield site, which is the first one is that correct?

Good question, AFAIK this button calls "http://localhost/xampp/" (and so your 1st. VHost).

also don't seem to be able to access phpmyadmin, if it attempt to connect via http://localhost/phpmyadmin

- error message?
- error log?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 61 guests