XAMPP V1.6.6a and bigdump.php

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP V1.6.6a and bigdump.php

Postby rr1024 » 11. March 2008 04:50

Hello and thanks for reading my question, I just installed XAMPP on my win2k system to create a local server for modifications, so I'm a really new user to the whole local thing.

I'm sure this will probably be simple but I wanted to use bigdump.php which I use several times on my host server. So, I configured biddump.php with data base name, user name, password etc...

$db_server = 'localhost';
$db_name = 'members';
$db_username = 'root';
$db_password = 'myloginpwd';

Then I go to
http://localhost/biddump.php
http://192.168.1.103/bigdump.php
or
http://127.0.0.1/bigdump.php

and bigdump.php in the root directory of XAMPP states the following message.
Database connection failed due to Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

I'm only guessing but I guess I need to set some security feature somewhere to allow this action.

Some notes:
1. I have XAMPP running on my file server and in this instance this is where I'm running or trying to run bigdump.php
2. My file server is upstairs and I'd like to do most of this kinda stuff, upload files, config data base etc from another computer that is conviently located infront of my TV but on the same network....Laughing but I can try to figure that stuff out later.

Anyway, any help would be great

And thanks a bunch for putting XAMPP out there!!! Very Nice
rr1024
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 11. March 2008 04:28

Postby Milligan » 11. March 2008 07:55

Last edited by Milligan on 17. July 2008 06:09, edited 1 time in total.
Milligan
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 03. March 2008 06:23

Postby rr1024 » 11. March 2008 09:20

Hello and thanks


I created a data base called members, but I don't remember assigning a user to it like on my host's machine. On my host there is a special panel for creating the DB aand assign a user with a password to a specific db before the link to phpmyadmin.

I guess I assumed if you created the user in the data base area then it would end up a global user and automatically connected/associated with all the data bases.

I just used root to help simplify my explaination
rr1024
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 11. March 2008 04:28

Postby Milligan » 11. March 2008 10:01

Last edited by Milligan on 17. July 2008 06:06, edited 1 time in total.
Milligan
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 03. March 2008 06:23

XAMPP adding users to MySQL

Postby rr1024 » 11. March 2008 15:59

Ha! got it....thanks a bunch

Sorry it was kind of a dumb question but I just never have done it that way.

can I delete all the other data bases that are deletable that come with the default installation? I noticed there are two or three that are not deletable which make sense since it contains the users and such but there is one called test and a couple others that look like they can be deleted. Is this ok or do you recommend keeping them?

again thanks a bunch
rr1024
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 11. March 2008 04:28

Postby Milligan » 11. March 2008 16:15

Last edited by Milligan on 17. July 2008 06:05, edited 1 time in total.
Milligan
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 03. March 2008 06:23

Postby rr1024 » 12. March 2008 05:16

Yes I do, and it is great brain food :lol: just takes getting over the learning curve which will be steep for a little while anyway
rr1024
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 11. March 2008 04:28


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests