XAMPP on production

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP on production

Postby elvisparsley » 27. February 2008 18:19

I just installed xampp for my production. Yes yes yes I read that xampp is not for production. But I want to use it!

I am using it on my own server.

Now I got a domain name and want to use it. I don't want to have something like this http://www.mydomainname.com/xampp/mywebsite

It should be http://www.mydomainname.com

How can I achieve this?
What do I need to change?

Thanks.
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

Postby Wiedmann » 27. February 2008 20:59

Put your files in "\xampp\htdocs", and not in "\xampp\htdocs\xampp\mywebsite".
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

aha, as I do for my local development. But..

Postby elvisparsley » 27. February 2008 21:30

Thanks.
But what is this folder for by the way?
\xampp\htdocs\xampp\

Why xampp is in the xampp\htdocs ??
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

Postby Wiedmann » 27. February 2008 21:49

But what is this folder for by the way?
\xampp\htdocs\xampp\

That's the XAMPP demopage, new user can see after installation of XAMPP and going to the URL "http://localhost/"
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby elvisparsley » 27. February 2008 22:14

Put your files in "\xampp\htdocs", and not in "\xampp\htdocs\xampp\mywebsite".


I am using xampp for my development as well.
When I go to local host, I always get xampp's home page, even I have many applications in my xampp\htdocs.

I have no problem doing this for my development on my laptop, but I don't know what to do for production, this is the first time for me.

I have a domain name http://www.mydomain.org and I am going to put Moodle which has http://moodle.mydomain.org

And later I need to put some CMS in xampp.

If I put 5 applications, what will it happen?


Thanks for your help.
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

Postby Wiedmann » 27. February 2008 22:52

When I go to local host, I always get xampp's home page

In the file "\xampp\htdocs\index.php" is a redirect to the XAMPP demopage. Just delete this page.

but I don't know what to do for production,

IMHO a question for your administrator...

If I put 5 applications, what will it happen?

That's your decision.

You can put each application in a different subdir and acces it with "http://server/app1/", "http://server/app2/", ... (without any configuration changes.

And/or you can define different vhosts and dirs for each application and access them with "http://app1.server/", "http://app2.server/", ...
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby elvisparsley » 28. February 2008 08:50

In the file "\xampp\htdocs\index.php" is a redirect to the XAMPP demopage. Just delete this page.


How can I access to Xampp home page if I need to?
For example accessing to phpmyadmin in order to create a database.

IMHO a question for your administrator...


What does IMHO mean?

Thanks.
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

Postby Wiedmann » 28. February 2008 09:27

How can I access to Xampp home page if I need to?

http://localhost/xampp/

For example accessing to phpmyadmin in order to create a database.

http://localhost/phpmyadmin/

What does IMHO mean?

http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/imho
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby sari42 » 28. February 2008 15:20

>In the file "\xampp\htdocs\index.php" is a redirect to the XAMPP demopage. Just delete this page.
IIRC there is a index.htm(l) as well to be deleted or modified ....
sari42
 
Posts: 800
Joined: 27. November 2005 18:28

I am not able to access xampp

Postby elvisparsley » 28. February 2008 18:48

Ok I have deleted htdocs/index.php and replaced it with index.php of Moodle. And I put all the Moodle files under htdocs not htdocs/moodle.

So I could install it successfully and website is working with http://moodle.mydomai.org

And I am able to access http://moodle.mydomain.org/phpmyadmin.

But I am not able to access http://moodle.mydomain.org/xampp. I tried http://moodle.mydomain.org/xampp/index.php as well but I am not able to access either.

Help Please. :cry:
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

Postby Wiedmann » 28. February 2008 18:55

But I am not able to access http://moodle.mydomain.org/xampp

Why not?
--> error message / error.log?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

How can I get it?

Postby elvisparsley » 28. February 2008 19:13

How can I get the error log?

Thanks.
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

And also I want to restart xampp remortely

Postby elvisparsley » 28. February 2008 19:19

How can I restart xampp through FTP? Can I do it?
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

Postby Wiedmann » 28. February 2008 19:53

Can I do it?

No.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

After installing Moodle (CMS) ...

Postby elvisparsley » 29. February 2008 07:39

I am not able to access http://mydomain.org/xampp/index.php
Why not

I don't know.

I installed CMS Moodel under htdocs.
I am not able to transfer files through FTP either.

Is it something to do with Moodle?
Or server firewall?

I experimented the same thing with my laptop. I can access to xampp, but I am not able to access other CMS under htdocs.

Help. :cry:
elvisparsley
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24. December 2007 17:14

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests