Page 1 of 1

PhpMyAdmin MySQL Version Difference

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 09:51
by dravekx
When I log into phpmyadmin, I get this error at the bottom:

Your PHP MySQL library version 5.0.51 differs from your MySQL server version 3.23.32. This may cause unpredictable behavior.

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 10:39
by dravekx
I just tried updating the MySQL server... I still get the same error. :(

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 11:28
by sari42
try
Code: Select all
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
(instead of "mysql") in your config.inc

will be fixed in pma 2.11.5, see https://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.p ... tid=377408

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 11:48
by dravekx
sari42 wrote:try
Code: Select all
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
(instead of "mysql") in your config.incwill be fixed in pma 2.11.5, see https://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.p ... tid=377408


Did that... TY Sari, but now I get this error:

Connection for controluser as defined in your config.inc.php failed.

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 11:58
by dravekx
NVM.. easy fix.. I just needed to change this:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'pmapass';

to this:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '';

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 15:28
by sari42
this was already discussed in the bug-tracker (IIRC, see link above) .

how to fix pma 2.11.<5 (if you need to use mysql):
in libraries/dbi/mysql.dbi.lib.php
change line 84 from
Code: Select all
if (empty($link) && ! $is_controluser) {
to
Code: Select all
if (empty($link)) {


p.s.
a controluser must only be set in config.inc.php after creating such user, see http://wiki.cihar.com/pma/controluser .

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 18:27
by dravekx
So changing this:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '';

to this:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'actual username in database';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'actual password in database';

Doesnt fix the problem? because I did that and its working fine now WITH MYSQL and not MYSQLi...

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 18:45
by sari42
it was merely meant as an explanation/hint for any other visitors

PostPosted: 08. February 2008 20:24
by dravekx
sari42 wrote:it was merely meant as an explanation/hint for any other visitors
ahhh.. ok... sry... lol. I went back and removed the data for the controluser/controlpass and changed to MySQLi after a misfortunate database crash and SSL error. I love this stuff! :shock: :lol: