xampp 1.6.5 and web services problem with vista?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

xampp 1.6.5 and web services problem with vista?

Postby trabakoulas » 01. February 2008 18:00

Hi!

I use xampp 1.6.5 on vista.
Apache seems to be working ok
The problem is I can't get a simple "Hello world" web service with SOAP extension to run...
I tried it on a friend's pc, on ubuntu and it worked fine (he was not using xampp)

Here's the service, client and wsdl script, it's samisa's example
http://wso2.org/library/1060
The only change I've made is changing the service location address in the wsdl file.

The service doesn't seem to run at all
That's what I get when running the client
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 60 seconds exceeded in C:\xampp\htdocs\helloclient.php on line 11

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
SOAP extension is enabled of course

PS. I'm new to php and web services so be gentle plz.... :roll:
trabakoulas

Re: xampp 1.6.5 and web services problem with vista?

Postby trabakoulas » 19. April 2008 20:52

I've found what the problem was, so I'd thought I'd share for anyone else who's having the same problem

Well, the thing is that vista use an IPv6-based TCP/IP stack.
The localhost machine alias is, by default, aliased to the ::1 IPv6 loopback address.
Any attempt to open a soapserver url using localhost to refer to the current machine causes the web browser to hang.
I'm not sure really but I think this means that soapserver is lacking proper ipv6 support.
The localhost machine name does not work because Vista resolves localhost to the IP v6 ::1 loopback address.

And here's a simple solution to the problem :)

The mapping of localhost to IP address is performed by this file:
Code: Select all
%windir%\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

The hosts file contains these two lines when Windows Vista is initially installed:
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost

First, make a backup copy of your hosts file: