Multiple sites with XAMPP

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Multiple sites with XAMPP

Postby BobbyS » 09. January 2008 21:30

Can XAMPP host more than one site? If I make a new database for each one and put my sites in different folders, will this work?


Thanks for any help!!!
BobbyS
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 04. July 2007 23:02
Location: Alb, New Mexico

Postby Scory » 09. January 2008 22:10

Yes.

See "VirtualHost" in Apache Doc.
Scory
 

Postby BobbyS » 09. January 2008 22:33

where is the apache doc.


Thanks!!
BobbyS
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 04. July 2007 23:02
Location: Alb, New Mexico

Postby Izzy » 10. January 2008 00:42

The previous poster never seems to post detailed informative information to help new members - maybe his motivation is to increase his post count as I can't see any other reason for the post he made here or perhaps is not confident in the English language.



The best solution at first is to do a search in the XAMPP for Windows forum using the ApacheFriends in English Category and vhosts for your key word - both the Forum and Category are contained in the drop menus in the Search Options section.

Here you will find many examples to peruse, and having a go is the next step - then post back if you get stuck.

The Apache docs on the subject can be found here but are only informative and not really complete for the XAMPP implications, being on Windows.
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.3/vhosts/
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.3/vhosts/examples.html
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod/directives.html
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/trunk/
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby BobbyS » 10. January 2008 00:49

Thanks a bunch Izzy!!! :D
BobbyS
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 04. July 2007 23:02
Location: Alb, New Mexico

Re: Multiple sites with XAMPP

Postby LooseCannon » 10. January 2008 11:07

Separate web sites in separate folders makes very good sense, but just an observation on your question:
BobbyS wrote:... If I make a new database for each one ...
Note that each web site needn't have its own database and each database needn't have its own website. Multiple web sites and web pages can connect and interact with one database.
User avatar
LooseCannon
 
Posts: 162
Joined: 18. September 2007 12:07
Location: Hampshire, UK

Postby BobbyS » 11. January 2008 06:34

So even if I have an addon domain I can run a website on my main domain and the addon domain with one database?
BobbyS
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 04. July 2007 23:02
Location: Alb, New Mexico

Postby LooseCannon » 16. January 2008 18:03

Sorry for the delay in responding. I've had my head up the rear end of a installation problem. I was just looking for my post on it to close the query.

BobbyS wrote:So even if I have an addon domain I can run a website on my main domain and the addon domain with one database?
Yes, I believe so, though have not attempted such.

My php skills are trully dreadful, so best if others provide details or you have a look at http://uk3.php.net/manual/en/ref.msql.php. There's a nice bit of example code a couple of scrolls down on that page.

There are many issues to consider, not least making the web vs data relationship making plain sense.

Note that it's the php code that makes the connection and then interacts with the data. XAMPP gets Apache and MySQL running, so the connection can actually work.
User avatar
LooseCannon
 
Posts: 162
Joined: 18. September 2007 12:07
Location: Hampshire, UK

Postby LooseCannon » 16. January 2008 18:10

LooseCannon wrote:Sorry for the delay in responding. I've had my head up the rear end of a installation problem. I was just looking for my post on it to close the query.

BobbyS wrote:So even if I have an addon domain I can run a website on my main domain and the addon domain with one database?
Yes, I believe so, though have not attempted such.

My php skills are trully dreadful, so best if others provide details or you have a look at http://uk3.php.net/manual/en/ref.msql.php. There's a nice bit of example code a couple of scrolls down on that page.

There are many issues to consider, not least having the web vs data relationship making plain sense.

Note that it's the php code that makes the connection and then interacts with the data. XAMPP gets Apache and MySQL running, so the connection can actually work.
User avatar
LooseCannon
 
Posts: 162
Joined: 18. September 2007 12:07
Location: Hampshire, UK


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests