Page 1 of 1

Can't get apache to start

PostPosted: 30. December 2007 19:14
by SmokingMan
I installed XAMPP 1.6.5 just fine using the installer. When I try to start apache and mysgl from the control panel. they won't start. I will occasionally get a green "running" notification, but it only appears for a second then goes away. When trying to connect to http://localhost or http://127.0.0.1, I get the "Unable to connect" message.

What am I missing when trying to start the services, any ideas?

Oh yeah, by the way, I'm new at this and learning as I go. So I've probably missed something really simple.

PostPosted: 31. December 2007 00:27
by Izzy
Double click on the file
xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe
To see if there are any other users of the ports that XAMPP requires exclusively - they should all be Free.
(Usual culprits that prevent Apache starting are Skype and IIS)

If all ports are free try starting Apache using the xampp\apache_start.bat file by double clicking on it to see an error message why it won't start.

On Vista you may have to right click on the bat file and select to run as administrator - you did not mention what OS you are running XAMPP on.

http://www.apachefriends.org/en/faq-xam ... ml#nostart

Also check your firewall:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/faq-xam ... html#xpsp2


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp Launch Control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Build Rich AJAX Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================

PostPosted: 31. December 2007 02:46
by SmokingMan
I ran the port check and all ports are free. I ran the .bat file and got an error message. I've attached a screenshot of the error.

By the way, I'm running XP Pro with SP2.

Image

PostPosted: 31. December 2007 03:00
by Izzy
Open the xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf file in your text editor (notepad etc.) and check the line in the error message contains the correct path:
mine looks like this:
ServerRoot "C:/xampp/apache"

Yours may be different depending on your installation - see the BTW note below first.

Save the file, but make a backup before editing, then restart Apache again.

BTW double clicking on xampp\setup_xampp.bat will check that all your paths are correct for your installation, and you may run this batch file before editing the conf file, then you can check the path is correct by following the edit instructions above.

TIP - If you want to copy and paste any messages from a Command Console Window all you need do is click on the little icon C:\ top left of the window border next to the window's title, where a menu will drop down with an Edit> sub-menu with the necessary edit commands - Mark (Select), Copy, Paste etc. - it may be a touch quicker than doing a screen cap etc. ;) - but the screen cap you posted was quite acceptable too. :)

You will also find a Properties menu in there that will allow you to customize the way the Command Console Window looks and feels.
HTH


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp Launch Control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Build Rich AJAX Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================

PostPosted: 31. December 2007 11:07
by sari42
Did you check line 42?

Some programs/scripts don't like spaces in paths like Ā»Program FilesĀ« (well known issue). If enclosing the complete drive:/path/dir in double quotes doesn't help try and install it on c:\Xampp instead.

PostPosted: 01. January 2008 04:48
by SmokingMan
I uninstalled XAMPP and then unpacked the .zip file into c:/xampp. I ran the setup.bat file and now everything is working fine. Thanks for all of your help.