Page 1 of 1

Really struggling with PERL in XAMPP

PostPosted: 18. December 2007 03:00
by ravishankar
hello everyone !

i have managed to install the xampp 1.6.4 succesfully and have started using it and have even developed my work with it.

But its time for me to use perl with apace.

I was having look at all the information in the website of xampp for the installation of perl.

according to my research to install perl we need to use the version 1.6.0 which culd not find it in the website.

Culd any one please help me on how to proceed with the perl installation in apache.

Ur help is very much appreciated.

regards

ravi

apache 2.2.6 and perl

PostPosted: 18. December 2007 14:51
by joh261
Hi,

I recently read the existence of a patch witch can resolve the problem of apache 2.26 and mod_perl. I wonder if that is applicable with Xampp.

Re: Really struggling with PERL in XAMPP

PostPosted: 18. December 2007 15:26
by Scory
ravishankar wrote:according to my research to install perl we need to use the version 1.6.0 which culd not find it in the website.


No, whatever you "researched", thats definately wrong. Perl is already part of Xampp (no need to install anything).

ravishankar wrote:Culd any one please help me on how to proceed with the perl installation in apache.


It is installed.

Click the following link to find out if your Perl is running:

http://localhost/cgi-bin/perltest.cgi

Regards
Scory

PostPosted: 18. December 2007 21:05
by ravishankar
hi yah !

culd any one please tell me how to make PERL in xampp.

thanking u
ravi

PostPosted: 18. December 2007 21:24
by ravishankar
hi !

this is my basic program in perl.
Code: Select all
#!"C:\xampp\perl\bin\perl.exe"
     
   print "Hello!\n";


and there is an error for this program when i save it in the save it in the cgi-bin folder of the xampp.

I m running it on the server using (http://localhost/cgi-bin/hi.pl)

and the error it shows isss


"Server error!

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request.

Error message:
malformed header from script. Bad header=Hello!: hi.pl "

could any one please help me with this. thanks a lot.

I think its a problem with the header in the script. i have tried different combinations but nothing worked.

PostPosted: 18. December 2007 21:31
by Wiedmann
I think its a problem with the header in the script.

Correct: in your script, you send no header (Content-Type).