Page 1 of 1

PHP4, how to use?

PostPosted: 04. December 2007 19:05
by alexw
I have the latest Xampp Basic Package.
Its included the Php5 and 4.
But i have an dll that only works with php4.
But how do i add that extension?

Alexw

PostPosted: 05. December 2007 02:14
by Izzy
To switch to php4 run the xampp\php-switch.bat - type 4 to swap or x to cancel and exit.

Do the same procedure above to switch back to php5 but type 5 instead of 4 when given the choice.

To add an extension in php4 that is not there already, copy your dll to the extension directory defined in xampp\php\php4\php4.ini file which usually is
xampp\php\extensions
In my php4.ini file:
Code: Select all
; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir = "C:\xampp\php\extensions\"


Add your dll to the relevant section of the php4.ini file mentioned above following the syntax of the extensions already included there then restart Apache.
Code: Select all
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Dynamic Extensions ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
;
; If you wish to have an extension loaded automatically, use the following
; syntax:
;
;   extension=modulename.extension

Uncomments any of the commented extensions you require but only those that you need should be uncommented.
For example
;extension=php_curl.dll
remove the comment ; to be
extension=php_curl.dll

Restart Apache and go to http://localhost/xampp/phpinfo.php to check that you now have the version you want and any extensions are showing that you added and/or uncommented.

Remember to always make a backup of any configuration or ini file before editing.


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp Launch Control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Build Rich AJAX Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================

PostPosted: 05. December 2007 19:28
by alexw
Thx, it works. 8)