can't access phpMyAdmin at 127.0.0.1

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

can't access phpMyAdmin at 127.0.0.1

Postby peterspm » 02. December 2007 08:59

I get this error:
phpMyAdmin - Error
Cannot load mysql extension. Please check your PHP configuration. - Documentation

help!
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

Postby Izzy » 02. December 2007 09:59

Open xampp\apache\bin\php.ini file in your text editor and find these lines:
Code: Select all
; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir =


What does the extension_dir line say?


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp Launch Control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Build Rich AJAX Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

extension directory

Postby peterspm » 02. December 2007 21:22

local
C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\lib\phpext
master
C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\lib\phpext
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

wait!

Postby peterspm » 02. December 2007 21:26

I didn't read your whole message, got to excited, I guess.
; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir = "C:\xampp\php\ext\"

let me think about this for a minute, the answer is probably right there, i just woke up, need coffee, you're the greatest
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

php.ini

Postby peterspm » 02. December 2007 23:35

I can't figure it out, it's to recursive.
what do I do?
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

or maybey

Postby peterspm » 02. December 2007 23:36

or maybey I'm just not smart enough!
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

Re: extension directory

Postby Izzy » 02. December 2007 23:53

peterspm wrote:local
C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\lib\phpext
master
C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\lib\phpext

Was this from
http://localhost/xampp/phpinfo.php
(It should be the path in your php.ini file.)

If so then you have other instances installed or running as a service that may be stuck and have not been released (uninstalled services).

What appears to be happening is XAMPP components are getting crossed with what ever.

You can check the xampp\apache\logs\error.log file for any clues also.

After stopping all XAMPP components and uninstalling any XAMPP services you have running, double click on:
xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe
to see if all ports that XAMPP requires are free and not being used by your other installed components that are not XAMPP related.

You can also check in the Windows Task Manager for instances of Apache and/or MySql after you have tried to stop all components.
Right click on the Task Bar and select the Task Manager then the Processes tab.

If you think that there is a service that won't uninstall for some reason, follow the instructions in this post:

http://community.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopi ... 564#111564

There seems to be a wire crossed somewhere. :)


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp Launch Control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Build Rich AJAX Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

2 instances of apache running

Postby peterspm » 03. December 2007 00:24

I have 2 instances of apache running.
I've recently installed all kinds of programs trying to find this program, I'll create a restore point and start cleaning up, thanks for the tips, be back in awhile.
Peter
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

xamp control panel is starting2 instances of apache

Postby peterspm » 03. December 2007 00:59

I've got an apache directory against the root, c:\apache, it may have come from a download I did.
I'm going to temporarily rename this directory and reboot.
I guess these type of programs don't register in the control panel add/remove programs, very dossy.
I'll be back.
I probably should say Unixy.
Peter
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

Postby Izzy » 03. December 2007 00:59

2 instances of Apache in the Task Manager is quite normal and that is not your problem as it seems to be related to paths and your Zend installation in C:\Program Files conflicting with the php of Apache.

The clean-up sounds like a good idea.

After that clean-up go to:
http://localhost
After setting your language you should see the XAMPP Welcome Page and all the demos and menu items should work without issue.

That will indicate that your XAMPP installation is working as it should.

Just to add if you have stopped everything and unchecked all the service in the XAMPP control Panel then there should be no running XAMPP components visible in the Task Manager - if there is then it points to a sticking service that you would remove using the instructions relating to sc delete in the above link to my previous post.


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp Launch Control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Build Rich AJAX Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

removed programs excep Zend core

Postby peterspm » 03. December 2007 01:39

removed programs excep Zend core which has 2 more subdirectories: C:\Program Files\Zend\Apache2 and C:\Program Files\Zend\Core.
Then I changed the path from this: %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\80\Tools\Binn\;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\bin;C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\oic;C:\Program Files\jEdit;c:\xampp\php;C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\lib\phpext;C:\xampp\php\ext;c:\xampp

to this: %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\bin;C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\oic;C:\Program Files\jEdit;c:\xampp\php;C:\Program Files\Zend\Core\lib\phpext;C:\xampp\php\ext;c:\xampp

rebooted after each change, etc., still can't open phpMyAdmin. Any suggestions?, I appreciate your help, I really can't afford to be buying programs.
Peter
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52

Izzy

Postby peterspm » 03. December 2007 06:32

Izzy fixed it, my path had errors because i had Zend installed, the full version, 30-day trial.
I uninstalled Zend, renamed the directory that had the core files in it (evidently the uninstall left them, maybey it didn't write them in the first place, don't know), fixed the path (environment variables), and I can now access phpmyadmin from 127.0.0.1.
Thanks for the help!
Peter
peterspm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 02. December 2007 08:52


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bonniem and 65 guests