Apache not working

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache not working

Postby freebullets » 30. October 2007 01:38

Apache isn't working for me. I tried running Apache_start.bat and i got this error:
Code: Select all
Diese Eingabeforderung nicht waehrend des Running beenden
Bitte erst bei einem gewollten Shutdown schliessen
Please close this command only for Shutdown
Apache 2 is starting ...
(OS 10013)An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its acces
s permissions.  : make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs

Apache konnte nicht gestartet werden
Apache could not be started


I'm running vista, and when I try running the port check, the program automatically stops working.

I managed to get a screenshot of the cmd prompt before it closed and it said,
Code: Select all
C:\Users\Me\Appdata\local\temp\rarsfx2\checkports.vbs(66, 4) Microsoft VBScript runtime error: Subscript out of range: '0'
[/code]
Jizzy G Kay
freebullets
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30. October 2007 01:31

Postby Izzy » 30. October 2007 01:52

You have another prog using the ports that XAMPP needs exclusively.

In Vista and other Windows OS it may be IIS which can be deactivated in the Windows Control Panel.

The other offender is usually Skype which you can change the port it uses and in any case changing this port in Skype is advisable and a Google search will reveal why.

To find what ports are free for XAMPP to use or what is already using those ports run from a command prompt in the xampp directory:
xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe
as Administrator and this should keep a shell window open.

Or you can use netstat at a command prompt in C:\WINDOWS which will keep the shell window open also.

You will get problems with permissions in Vista if you installed XAMPP in the C:\Program Files directory as pointed out in the XAMPP for Windows home page where you no doubt download XAMPP from.
It seems to work best in the root directory of a drive like C:\xampp
HTH


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Make Richer Ajax Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby freebullets » 02. November 2007 04:19

portcheck stops working under vista
i have no programs using port 80 in cmd/netstat
i don't know what iis is
i don't have skype installed.
XAMPP is in c:\xampp
Jizzy G Kay
freebullets
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30. October 2007 01:31

Postby freebullets » 03. November 2007 01:30

i reformatted my computer, so i do not have this problem anymore. THANKS
Jizzy G Kay
freebullets
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30. October 2007 01:31

Postby Princess_lulu » 10. December 2007 06:11

Izzy wrote:You have another prog using the ports that XAMPP needs exclusively.

In Vista and other Windows OS it may be IIS which can be deactivated in the Windows Control Panel.

The other offender is usually Skype which you can change the port it uses and in any case changing this port in Skype is advisable and a Google search will reveal why.

To find what ports are free for XAMPP to use or what is already using those ports run from a command prompt in the xampp directory:
xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe
as Administrator and this should keep a shell window open.



[/color]


i have checked xampp-portcheck.exe and it say apache port is free but ny apache still cannot run?
Princess_lulu
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. December 2007 04:20


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests