XAMPP & PHP (php not working)

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP & PHP (php not working)

Postby Summerjamn » 25. October 2007 21:38

I'm trying to run a standalone web server for web site testing. OS is XP w/SP2.
XAMPP appeared to install just fine. Will run phpinfo() and various other functions from localhost.
I put my html and php files in a folder named website as a sub-folder of htdocs.
All of my .html code works and goes from page to page just like it should.
Problem is I have several links in the .html code to .php files to capture data from forms.
None of the .php forms will display...nothing happens when I click the link to the form.
Apparently they are not being found. I copied the .php files into htdocs and the result was the same....no form display.
I might add, it all works (html & php forms) on my production web site.

Suggestions please?
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Postby Izzy » 27. October 2007 10:07

Anything in your log files that might give a clue?
xampp\apache\logs\error.log and/or access.log

Sounds like it might be a relative path issue but without some indication like some of the code used to link to php files, I can only hazard a guess.


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Make Richer Ajax Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

XAMPP & PHP

Postby Summerjamn » 27. October 2007 17:03

Nothing in the error log. Checked that multiple times. Code works in an ISS environment just fine. Forms come up, sends the email, everything I want it to do except running under Apache/PHP installed from XAMPP download.

I'm pulling my hair out on this one.

Any help is greatly appreciated...I'll chase about any rabbit.

Thanks
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Postby Izzy » 28. October 2007 02:29

Again
Izzy wrote:...Sounds like it might be a relative path issue but without some indication like some of the code used to link to php files, I can only hazard a guess...

Also is ISS meant to be IIS?

If so, do you also have IIS installed and active on your PC?

Apache will not coexist with IIS using the same ports.
xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe will show if all or any ports are free for XAMPP to use exclusively.
I might add, it all works (html & php forms) on my production web site.
Which, if you are using a copy of the production site's files, may point to a relative or absolute path issue for Apache.

I am running out of guesses as my crystal ball is in for repair. :)

How about some details about how you are calling your links in the html pages.
As much detail as possible is always preferable.


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Make Richer Ajax Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

XAMPP & PHP

Postby Summerjamn » 29. October 2007 16:17

Thanks for your reply. Below is the HTML code for a php form link that does not work. Absolutely nothing happens. I do have error reporting turned on in the php.ini file and ISS is not installed on my standalone PC. The page linking to the php form is in the same folder on the server and on my stadalone PC. Again, this code/web site works on the production server www.cecilsfinejewelry.com To get in, Click on the red blinking star between the L and S at the end of the word Cecil's. Go to site index menu item and click on "Meet Jim Dickerson". Then click on "Contact Me For Reservations". Another form that is not working is under the menu item "Register/Discounts", click on "Birthday/Anniversary", click on "Go To Registration Form". This site is still under development since I am having difficulty with making it "elastic"...another issue another time. I just trying to get it into a standalone test environment for now.

Thanks in advance to those helping me resolve this issue.

Code: Select all
*************************************************
<body>
<div id=wrap2>
<center><span class="bigtext2">Hi! Thanks For Visiting My Page at Cecil's Fine Jewelry</span></center>
<center><span class="bigtext2">Please Use the Form Below if You Would Like to Make a Reservation</span></center>

<!-- ****************  Beginning of Form  *******************************************************-->

<form method="post" action="formjimdickersonreservationedit.php" target="_blank">

<center>

<fieldset id="reservationinfo">

<br>
<label>Name:</label>   <input type="text" name="custname" size="35" maxlength="35"  tabindex="1" /><span class="requiredtext">  Required Information
            </span><br />
<label>Address:</label> <input type="text" name="custaddress" size="25" maxlength="50" tabindex="2" /><br />
<label>City:</label>    <input type="text" name="custcity" size="25" maxlength="50" tabindex="3" /> <br />
<label>State:</label>     <input type="text" name="custstate" size="2" maxlength="2" tabindex="4" /> <br />
<label>Zip Code:</label><input type="text" name="custzipcode" size="5" maxlength="5" tabindex="5" /><br />
<br>
<label>Email:</label>   <input type="text" name="custemail" size="30" maxlenth="50" tabindex="6" /><br />
<br>
<label>Telephone #</label>  <input type="text" name="custtelephone" size="13" maxlenth="13" tabindex="7" /><span class="requiredtext">Telephone or Cell                Phone # Required</span><br />

<label>Cell Phone #</label> <input type="text" name="custcellphone" size="13" maxlenth="13" tabindex="8" /><br />
<br>
<label for="resmonth">Reservation date:</label>
   <select class="resmonth" name="reservemonth" tabindex="9">
   <option value="">Month</option>
   <option value="01">January </option>
   <option value="02">February</option>
   <option value="03">March</option>
   <option value="04">April</option>
   <option value="05">May</option>
   <option value="06">June</option>
   <option value="07">July</option>
   <option value="08">August</option>
   <option value="09">September</option>
   <option value="10">October</option>
   <option value="11">November</option>
   <option value="12">December</option>
   </select>

<label for="resday"></label><select class="resday" name="reserveday" tabindex="10">
   <option value="">Day</option>

   <?php
      for ($d = 1; $d <= 31; $d++) {
      print "<option value=\"$d\">$d
         </option>\n";
         }
   ?>
   </select>
   
<label for="resyear"></label>   <select class="resyear" name="reserveyear" tabindex="11">
   <option value="">Year</option>
   <option value="2007">2007</option>
   <option value="2008">2008</option>
   <option value="2009">2009</option>
   <option value="2010">2010</option>
   <option value="2011">2011</option>
   <option value="2012">2012</option>
   </select><br />
<br>
<label>Event Description:</label><textarea name="eventdesc" rows="4" cols="50" maxlength="200" tabindex="12"></textarea><br />

</fieldset>
</center>

<center>
<span class="buttonspace">
   <input   type="submit" value="Email Me" />
   <input   type="reset" value="Start Over" />
</span>

<br>

<span class="scripttext2">
" Thank You !!!"
</span>

<br>

<h4>
<a href="#" onclick="window.opener=null; window.close(); return false">Close Window</a>
</h4>
</center>


</form> <!-- **************************  End of Form  *******************************************************-->

</body>
<div>
</html>
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Postby Wiedmann » 29. October 2007 16:30

Below is the HTML code for a php form link that does not work.

And what's the problem? In this page there is only this piece of php code:
Code: Select all
 <?php
      for ($d = 1; $d <= 31; $d++) {
      print "<option value=\"$d\">$d
         </option>\n";
         }
   ?>

And this code works.
--> I can see the <select> with all days.

BTW:
Don't use a XML namespace, if you don't have a XHTML document.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

PHP link doing nothing

Postby Summerjamn » 29. October 2007 17:02

There is a link to a php form that is not doing a thing...no blank screen, no error message.... click and not response.
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Additional info...

Postby Summerjamn » 29. October 2007 17:04

Also, please note the php form is referenced in the statement
<form method="post" action="formjimdickersonreservationedit.php" target="_blank">

Thanks
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Postby Wiedmann » 29. October 2007 17:07

Also, please note the php form is referenced in the statement
<form method="post" action="formjimdickersonreservationedit.php" target="_blank">

I know. If I submit this form I can see this page:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

<!-- saved from url=(0014)about:internet -->

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

<head>
   <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=iso-8859-1">
   <meta name="description" content="Cecil's Fine Jewelry">
   <meta name="keywords" content="Cecil's, Cecils, Cecil's Fine Jewelry, Cecils Fine Jewelry, Cecil's Jewelry, Cecils Jewelry,
   Cecil's Little Rock, Cecil's Arkansas, Jewelry, Little Rock, Little Rock Jewelry, Arkansas Jewelry,
   Diamond, Diamonds, Ruby, Rubies, Rubys, Saphire, Saphires, Emerald, Emeralds, gemstones,
   colored gemstones, birthstones, repair, jewelry repair">

   <title>Jim Dickerson's Registration Form Edit</title>

<!--   <base target="new"/> -->
</head>

<body>

<p>Email Message to Jim Successfully Sent!</p>
<br>
<br>
<span class="scripttext2">
" Thank You !!!"
</span>

<br>

<h4>

<a href="#" onclick="window.opener=null; window.close(); return false">Close Window</a>
</h4>

</body>
</html>
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Wiedmann...

Postby Summerjamn » 29. October 2007 17:12

Wiedmann...are you looking at the web site referenced in one my previous posts today? If so, the php links work just fine there. I'm tyring to set up a test standalone environment on an XP SP2 and can't get the php code running. All the HTML works but the php links to the two forms I've developed do not appear.

Thanks..
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Postby Wiedmann » 29. October 2007 17:31

are you looking at the web site referenced in one my previous posts today?

Sure, because it does only make sense, to give us links to pages which doesn't works...

but the php links to the two forms I've developed do not appear.

You must describe this more detailed... Because there is no "php link" in this page. Only a form with a POST request. (a link is a GET request).
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

What????

Postby Summerjamn » 29. October 2007 18:30

I am very confused then because when I click on the link illustrated below, the web site goes right to the form.

<body OnLoad="expand();">

<center><span class="bigtext1">Jim Dickerson...Pianist EXTRAORDINAIRE</span></center>

<img class="jdickerson" src="../images/jimdickerson/jimatcecils.jpg"/>

<center>
<h3>
<a href="formjimdickersonreservation.php" target="_blank">Contact Me for Reservations</a>
</h3>
</center>

*********************
Are you suggesting I reanme the form to an .html file? Even so, this form will link to another .php file to edit the data entered. Same problem will probably occur...no php file execution. Don't you think?

I'm certain this has got to be a simple problem and I just can't see the forest.

Thanks.
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Postby Summerjamn » 29. October 2007 18:36

Once again for those just tuning in, I appreciate your input.
The code works fine on www.cecilsfinejewelry.com The php files will not execute on a standalone XP SP2 using XAMPP. That's the only issue I'm trying to get help with...thanks.
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Postby Wiedmann » 29. October 2007 18:46

The php files will not execute on a standalone XP SP2 using XAMPP.

Sure? Just make a:
Code: Select all
<?php die('I\'m here!'); ?>

at the top of this file.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Still Frustrated...

Postby Summerjamn » 29. October 2007 21:14

Wiedmann, I guess I must be dense...what will that do for me? PHPinfo runs and PHPAdmin runs on this XAMPP standalone installation, all the HTML code runs fine, it's just the files with a .php file extension that seem to be not found....or something. And all of the html and php files are in the same folder except for the home page.

I'm just not getting what you are telling me.

Thanks again.
Summerjamn
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25. October 2007 21:27
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests