Problem Executing XAMPP on Windows Vista Home Premium

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Problem Executing XAMPP on Windows Vista Home Premium

Postby pgecils » 25. September 2007 02:51

While I did not have any problem installing and executing XAMPP on two Windows XP computers, the Apache server times out in both Firefox and IE.

Both Apache and Mysql servers are up and running -- they can be stopped and restarted at will. The Apache error.log does not display any errors. I authorized port 80 on the Windows firewall page.

The XAMPP portcheck program cannot run with the following Windows message:
openports.exe has stopped working
Windows never returns the cause of the problem.

Any ideas on how to resolve the issue?
pgecils
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 07. September 2007 01:29
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA

Postby lyntuan » 25. September 2007 05:51

Right click on program icon and select Run as administrator
Last edited by lyntuan on 26. December 2008 13:56, edited 1 time in total.
AMPstart :: Launch a Portable Web Server
http://ampstart.com
----------------------------------------------------------
Please read Disclaimer section carefully before downloading
lyntuan
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 08. November 2006 00:21

Problem Executing XAMPP on Windows Vista Home Premium

Postby pgecils » 25. September 2007 14:24

Running as Administrator did not solve the problem.
pgecils
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 07. September 2007 01:29
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA

Postby delftdamage » 25. September 2007 23:56

checkports is not compitable for vista.
even not as administrator
I reported this 1beta ago, in beta2 it is still not fixed, maybe they fix it in the 1.6.4 final

this is available in de windows logfiles

Toepassing met fout openports.exe, versie 0.0.0.0, tijdstempel 0x3f200000, module met fout iphlpapi.dll, versie 6.0.6000.16386, tijdstempel 0x4549bd3f, uitzonderingscode 0xc0000005, foutmarge 0x000109a6, proces-id 0x3ec, starttijd van toepassing 0x01c7ffc635ad4ab9.
delftdamage
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 15. June 2007 23:56

Postby tzar » 27. September 2007 10:03

It's actually simple. The port 80 is used by ASP on Vista. Unless you don not need ASP, turn off IIS on control panel -> Programs and Features -> Turn Windows Features on or off, then uncheck IIS (Internet nformation Services)
8)
tzar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 27. September 2007 09:57

Problem Executing XAMPP on Windows Vista Home Premium

Postby pgecils » 28. September 2007 01:07

Because it is not my computer, I cannot disable ASP...

I will not have access to that computer for a couple of weeks, at least. I will not be able to test any suggestion for a while.
pgecils
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 07. September 2007 01:29
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA

Similar problem on Vista

Postby pberkhof » 29. September 2007 07:39

I have a similar problem with Vista, surely someone else has it. Can't run port check even when run as Admin as reported in previous post. Have changed httpd.conf to 127.0.0.1:8080 and/or localhost:8080 (also added Listen 127.0.0.1:8080 and Listen localhost:8080 as listen directives) to avoid port incompatabilities but when I run Apache start it starts, then stops and still says that it's starting on port 80. .Have temporarily disabled firewall, security features thinking maybe a block there. Have done a complete file search for all versions of httpd.conf and changed all discovered files. Have searched Admin Tools|Services for IIS, this helps on XP, but does not work on Vista, cannot find IIS.

Any help from someone who has encountered the problem and solved it, greatly appreciated!
pberkhof
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29. September 2007 07:22

Re: Similar problem on Vista

Postby ulises » 29. September 2007 13:38

pberkhof wrote:I have a similar problem with Vista, surely someone else has it. Can't run port check even when run as Admin as reported in previous post. Have changed httpd.conf to 127.0.0.1:8080 and/or localhost:8080 (also added Listen 127.0.0.1:8080 and Listen localhost:8080 as listen directives) to avoid port incompatabilities but when I run Apache start it starts, then stops and still says that it's starting on port 80. .Have temporarily disabled firewall, security features thinking maybe a block there. Have done a complete file search for all versions of httpd.conf and changed all discovered files. Have searched Admin Tools|Services for IIS, this helps on XP, but does not work on Vista, cannot find IIS.

Any help from someone who has encountered the problem and solved it, greatly appreciated!



Esto te pasa porque Windows vista no vale es un sistema con muchas fallas pásate a Linux
User avatar
ulises
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 13. July 2005 23:02
Location: Palma de Mallorca

problems installing on vista hoe premium

Postby tittiger » 10. October 2007 23:13

I am logged into an admin account and...

Tried to extract the latest zip version with winrar and got hundreds of errors saying something like the path can't be found. The XAMPP folder itself is invisable (I have show hidden folders and OS files configured) except when you browse with winrar and also the search function found it once but it does not exist in the explorer view.
SO......
I decide to try the windows installer version and I get the message:
"that a required privilege is not held by the client. "
Again I am logged in as admin.

Any suggestion apprecitated.
Joe@tittiger.com

Joe
tittiger
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. October 2007 22:52

progress

Postby tittiger » 10. October 2007 23:31

Went into control panel and used the Program Compatibility Wizard and got the basic windows installer versionpackage to install.
(i.e. xampp-win32-1.6.4-installer.exe)

However the add on xampp-win32-perl-addon-5.8.8-2.2.4-installer.exe
when run under the Compatibility Wizard give me ther error:
Apache Version 2.2.4 not found! Need XAMPP Version 1.6.


One more thing:
Apache starts and then stops I looked in services and did not see IIS listed there. Can you tell me what service exactly might be running on port 80 in vista home premium?

What gives?

TIA
Joe
tittiger
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. October 2007 22:52

Postby Izzy » 11. October 2007 00:04

tittiger wrote:...xampp-win32-1.6.4-installer.exe...What gives?

XAMPP 1.6.4 = Apache 2.2.6
Perl 5.8.8-2.2.4 = Apache 2.2.4

At the top of this page:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html
MOD_PERL Warning: With the new source, the Apache 2.2.6 does not function with mod_perl (win32). Seems the apache httpd team know that problem and will fix it in the next apache release. Note also: Mod_JK (Tomcat 6.0.13 Addon) functions without problems.

And in Red here:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html#644
You have Apache 2.2.6 installed not Apache 2.2.4 that's what gives there.

xampp\xampp-portcheck.exe
may help with your other "What gives" issue.

TIP
On Vista, install to a directory anywhere other than C:\Program Files for example C:\xampp instead.
Permissions for C:\Program Files are restrictive.
HTH


=================================================
Take a look at the new DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP and XAMPPlite (DTX.exe)
http://nat32.com/dtx/
posted by ridgewood:
http://community.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopi ... 967#103967
Also available here: http://zedfiles.com/DTX/
I highly recommend DTX.
=================================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

some progress

Postby tittiger » 11. October 2007 01:09

Thanks for the reply!

I went back to the last version
(xampp-win32-1.6.3a.zip - xampp-win32-upgrade-1.6.2-1.6.3a)
and they extracted to a non "program files" directory no problem that was a great idea.

I ran setup_xampp.bat no problem but Apache does not start nor will SQL

I could not find ASP or IIS running as services.

I had trouble following the discussion anyhow could you attempt to
repeat and clarify how to solve this last issue?

TIA
Joe
tittiger
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. October 2007 22:52

Postby Izzy » 11. October 2007 01:33

Your posts are a bit thin on details.
How are you trying to start the XAMPP components?
Bat file or CP etc.
What error messages if any are you receiving?
xampp\apache\logs\error.log
Error messages when using the bat file etc.

Please try and give as much detail as possible for your particular issues (it helps).

If the services are stuck in the registry then you may not be able to start them again.

Try this:
Close the Control Panel

Open a command prompt.
(You can open a Command Prompt window in Vista in all the same ways that you can in Windows XP.
You can use the Command Prompt shortcut on the Start menu or you can type CMD in the Run dialog box).

At the prompt type:
sc delete apache2
sc delete mysql


Try again to start.

The majority of the great command line tools introduced with Windows XP are still available, and there are several new native to Vista.
Type help at the command prompt or here:
http://commandwindows.com/vista-commands.htm

TIP
Here's a trick that I don't think many people are aware of.

Right-click on any folder on your Windows Vista machine while holding down the shift key. (Works in XP also - Open DOS Box)

You'll see an extra context-sensitive menu item there: Open Command Prompt here.

Just click on this menu and a command window will open with the current working directory set to the folder's actual location.

In the past there was a Windows XP powertoy that did this; now it's built into the operating system (albeit hidden away to protect the unwary from themselves).

What's really cool about this is that if the target folder is a network location, Windows Vista silently maps a network drive to that location before opening the folder (so that your command prompt has a valid path containing a drive letter) and then deletes the network drive once the command prompt is closed.

More Vista "Secrets" here:
http://blogs.msdn.com/tims/archive/tags ... fault.aspx
HTH


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Make Richer Ajax Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Last edited by Izzy on 25. October 2007 07:37, edited 1 time in total.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Solved using Vista compatability modes

Postby tittiger » 24. October 2007 00:05

Used Compatability mode either XP or win 98 NOT as admin and got Apache and MySQL to start. The control does not iindicate that they are started but they are.

Now having some compatibility issues with Joomla plugins!!! grrr Give me XP any day Vista is a beta OS that we are paying to test!!

Thanks all!

Joe
tittiger
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. October 2007 22:52

Postby Izzy » 24. October 2007 02:32

...Vista is a beta OS that we are paying to test!!
Micro$haft have been using this rude contemptuous behavior ever since all those at M$ looked like a bunch of hippies and presented us with their very first expensive beta OS.

Seems to have been BG's business plan since M$ was just a twinkle in his eye. :D

Image


Who can name them all?


===========================================
1. The new DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP / XAMPPlite
Posted by Ridgewood available from Ridgewood'sDTX web site

2. Make Richer Ajax Applications - Faster
TIBCO General Interface Pro Edition but FREE and Open Source
Fully working with NO donations required to get a user/password
===========================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests