Install on USB stck

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Install on USB stck

Postby ozstar » 04. September 2007 06:06

Hi,

I have installed on an XP USB stick and after strating Apached have all the orange index pages.

I have copied a full oscomerce group of php files to a /htdocs/justwine directory but when I enter..

http://localhost/xampp/justwine/index.php

I get this message..

Object not found!

The requested URL was not found on this server. If you entered the URL manually please check your spelling and try again.

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.
Error 404
localhost
09/04/07 14:38:14
Apache/2.2.4 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.4 OpenSSL/0.9.8e mod_autoindex_color PHP/5.2.3

What am I doping wrong?

Thanks

oz
ozstar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 04. September 2007 05:59

Re: Install on USB stck

Postby Izzy » 04. September 2007 06:18

ozstar wrote:I have copied a full oscomerce group of php files to a /htdocs/justwine directory but when I enter..

http://localhost/xampp/justwine/index.php


Then your address should look like this:
http://localhost/justwine/index.php
HTH

=================================================
Take a look at the new DeskTopXampp launch control posted by ridgewood:
http://community.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopi ... 967#103967

The DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP and XAMPPlite (DTX.exe)
is available here:
http://zedfiles.com/DTX/

I highly recommend DTX.
=================================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby ozstar » 04. September 2007 06:34

Thank you.

I did that but now get this

FATAL ERROR: register_globals is disabled in php.ini, please enable it!

even when I change this in php.ini

; You should do your best to write your scripts so that they do not require
; register_globals to be on; Using form variables as globals can easily lead
; to possible security problems, if the code is not very well thought of.
register_globals = On

Is there another place I need to do something?

Thanks

oz
ozstar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 04. September 2007 05:59

Postby Izzy » 04. September 2007 06:40

The php.ini file you need to edit is located in:
xampp\apache\bin\php.ini

=================================================
Take a look at the new DeskTopXampp launch control posted by ridgewood:
http://community.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopi ... 967#103967

The DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP and XAMPPlite (DTX.exe)
is available here:
http://zedfiles.com/DTX/

I highly recommend DTX.
=================================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby ozstar » 04. September 2007 07:16

Sorry, did that but still get the same message.

Apache/bin/php.ini

; You should do your best to write your scripts so that they do not require
; register_globals to be on; Using form variables as globals can easily lead
; to possible security problems, if the code is not very well thought of.
register_globals = On

Anything else I need to do?

oz
:?
ozstar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 04. September 2007 05:59

Postby Izzy » 04. September 2007 07:29

The only other thing I can think of is, because you copied over a complete directory, in your script's directory there may be a php.ini or a .htaccess file that is overriding your main php.ini file.

Or you are indeed using another instance of php not the one you believe you are using.

Where are you getting this error message?

Also look in http://localhost/xampp/phpinfo.php it will tell you what the php.ini file configurations you are using and the location of the file.

You also need to restart Apache after you have saved your php.ini file edits.

Also when working at localhost level and making numerous changes it pays to empty the browser's cache from time to time.

=================================================
Take a look at the new DeskTopXampp launch control posted by ridgewood:
http://community.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopi ... 967#103967

The DeskTopXampp launch control for XAMPP and XAMPPlite (DTX.exe)
is available here:
http://zedfiles.com/DTX/

I highly recommend DTX.
=================================================
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby ozstar » 04. September 2007 07:50

Doh!!! I didn't restart Apache! Once I did it was okay.

As I haven't setup a d'base in myphpAdmin yet, I get that usual message below, but think that will go when I do the d'base.

Thanks for all the help HTH. Really appreciate it.

No doubt we'll meet again here in the future...

Regards,

oz

:)

Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'justwine_webmast'@'localhost' (using password: YES) in P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\database.php on line 19
Unable to connect to database server!
ozstar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 04. September 2007 05:59

Postby ozstar » 04. September 2007 08:36

Well sooner than later it seems!

Oscom shows okay but I get this message below and know it is the tmp directory prob.

I have created tmp dirs all over in the hope I'll get the right dir, but so far no go.

I am sure it is in the configure file which is here..

Is it a path problem?

Thanks

oz


define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://localhost'); // eg, http://localhost - should not be empty for productive servers
define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'https://localhost'); // eg, https://localhost - should not be empty for productive servers
define('ENABLE_SSL', true); // secure webserver for checkout procedure?
define('HTTP_COOKIE_DOMAIN', 'http://localhost/justwine');
define('HTTPS_COOKIE_DOMAIN', 'https://localhost/justwine');
define('HTTP_COOKIE_PATH', '/justwine/');
define('HTTPS_COOKIE_PATH', '/justwine/');
define('DIR_WS_HTTP_CATALOG', '/justwine/');
define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG', '/justwine/');
define('DIR_WS_IMAGES', '/justwine/images/');
define('DIR_WS_ICONS', DIR_WS_IMAGES . 'icons/');
define('DIR_WS_INCLUDES', 'includes/');
define('DIR_WS_BOXES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'boxes/');
define('DIR_WS_FUNCTIONS', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'functions/');
define('DIR_WS_CLASSES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'classes/');
define('DIR_WS_MODULES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'modules/');
define('DIR_WS_LANGUAGES', DIR_WS_INCLUDES . 'languages/');

Message..


Warning: The sessions directory does not exist: /tmp. Sessions will not work until this directory is created.

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: open(/tmp\sess_ef6ae5ab6cd5d414a9a29659fb7604e8, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\sessions.php on line 67

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\sessions.php:67) in P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\sessions.php on line 67

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\sessions.php:67) in P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\sessions.php on line 67

and atb the bottom of same page

Warning: session_write_close() [function.session-write-close]: open(/tmp\sess_ef6ae5ab6cd5d414a9a29659fb7604e8, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\sessions.php on line 106

Warning: session_write_close() [function.session-write-close]: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/tmp) in P:\xampp\htdocs\justwine\includes\functions\sessions.php on line 106
ozstar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 04. September 2007 05:59

Postby Izzy » 04. September 2007 09:07

Not sure about this but I take it you have now created a database?

The script through it's mySQL database can't find the server's temporary directory to write the php session data and of course any other data it needs, I believe.

So drag xampp\bin\my (or my.cnf file it might be named and the my file looks like a link) into your favorite text editor and look for this section:
# The MySQL server
[mysqld]
basedir=/xampp/mysql
tmpdir=/xampp/tmp
datadir=/xampp/mysql/data


Check that there is directory in that location and if not then create one or in a location of your choice and record it in the above location.
Save and restart apache :wink:

Here's is what mine looks like and I always prefer to use the actual path rather than a relative path as it can save you lots of angst later if you are not as accurate as the server demands.

# The MySQL server
[mysqld]
basedir="C:/xampp/mysql"
tmpdir="C:/xampp/tmp"
datadir="C:/xampp/mysql/data"


HTH = Hope This Helps - Just another acronym
http://www.acronymfinder.com/
Type HTH in the query box.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby ozstar » 04. September 2007 10:34

Hi HTH,

I tried that and a few other things with the my.cnf file (it was in /mysql/bin/) but it is not my moment!

I might see what the oscommerce forum has to say..

Really appreciate your HTH approach!

Regards,


oz
:)
ozstar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 04. September 2007 05:59

Postby ozstar » 04. September 2007 10:49

Ah ha...... I found it here..

http://forums.oscommerce.com/index.php? ... +directory

In includes/configure.php

define('STORE_SESSIONS', 'mysql'); // leave empty '' for default handler or set to 'mysql'

It was empty so put in mysql and whammo!!

Thanks Izzy

ISDH

It sure did help!!
ozstar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 04. September 2007 05:59


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 125 guests