XAMPP installation for 30 user intranet - Reassure me?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP installation for 30 user intranet - Reassure me?

Postby sophie_k » 22. May 2007 04:54

Hello,

I've put together a simple web application for a call centre, using PHP and MYSQL, running on XAMPP.
It has all worked quite smoothly so far, but soon we will go live with 30 users. As I've never done that before, I'd appreciate some reassurance from experienced users and maybe some tips too.

Details are as follows:
1. A new Pentium PC running Windows XP acts as a server to 30 other PCs.
2. MYSQL database with 10 tables and about 50,000 records
3. About 1 PHP page request per second, which would have 2-3 SELECT and or UPDATE / INSERT queries.

Is this a large load for the server? Are there any issues I need to consider? Any other advice which may be helpful?

Thanks,
Sophie
sophie_k

XP Connection Limit

Postby Snoopy.pa30 » 30. May 2007 20:53

Sophie,

I don't want to scare you, but you might need to look into the issue of XP connectivity.

I have read (a while ago) about XP limiting connections to 10.

I am not sure what that will translate into - only 10 machines can connect, or only 10 concurrent?

All I can say is TEST, TEST, TEST.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.
Snoopy

"Still trying to shoot down that Red Baron"
Snoopy.pa30

Success

Postby sophie_k » 31. May 2007 09:43

Hi Snoopy,

I've had the intranet site live for a week, and it has gone extremely successfully. MYSQL queries do not take any time at all, even with 25 PCs active.
Backing up is simple too - I am able to copy the entire XAMPP directory to another computer, and start the copy without any loss of data.
No problems in limiting connectivity, it has all gone smoothly.

I would recommend this solution to anyone!

Sophie