Trouble connecting to apache: Connects w/ IP, but not name

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:05

Ok, I'll try that.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:08

Will I need to reboot PC2? I'm on PC 2 right now.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 21. March 2007 01:13

Will I need to reboot PC2?

No, changes in the hosts file effects immediately.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:15

:( It didn't work, and I rebooted, too.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:24

I just did ipconfig / all on PC1

Here are the results:
Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
(C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-1999.

C:\>ipconfig/all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : database
Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myISP.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myISP.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR FA311/312 PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-3D-21-7A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : {I removed IP number}
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : {I removed IP number}
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : {I removed IP number}
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : {I removed IP number}
{I removed}
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 20, 2007 4:04:22 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 21, 2007 4:04:22 PM


C:\>
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 21. March 2007 01:34

It didn't work,

Ok, you have add the above code on pc2 to the file "%WINDIR%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts".

And after that a "ping database" on pc2 doesn't work correct?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:35

Hey! Ping works.

Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
(C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-1999.

C:\WINNT\PROFILES\ADMINI~1.CIN>ping -a database

Pinging database [192.168.1.4] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.4: bytes=32 time<10ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.4:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\WINNT\PROFILES\ADMINI~1.CIN>
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:36

lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:45

Is there some other way to test the apache web server to see if it is running properly?
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 21. March 2007 01:45

http://database/index.html does not work.

With the same result as your last test?
lostndazed wrote:If I use http://database/index.html I get a blank page. When I view the source, it says:
Code: Select all
<?
   echo "web5.ltbx.com is alive";
?>
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:49

yes, http://database/index.html goes to a blank page. And the source is the same as before.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 21. March 2007 01:51

1) you have a proxy enabled in your browser?
2) clear your browser cache.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:52

Uhm, :oops: my bad! I just cleared the cache and it appears to be working now!

Thank you so much.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 01:53

Thank you Wiedmann!
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Previous

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests