Trouble connecting to apache: Connects w/ IP, but not name

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Trouble connecting to apache: Connects w/ IP, but not name

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 22:39

Hello,

I wonder if anyone can help me. I have a peer to peer windows network.

I have Xampp installed on one machine (called database).
I CAN access it from another machine IF I use the IP address.
Example not using actual IP number: http://127.0.0.01/xampp/ works.

But I can not access it using http://database/xampp/

http://database/xampp/ gives me the error:

Not Found
The requested URL /xampp/ was not found on this server.
Apache/1.3.35 Server at database Port 80


I've tried installing a LMHOSTS file on the second machine, but it didn't seem to resolve the IP number.

I would greatly appreciate any ideas on why it appears to be connecting to the server, but not returning the page that shows when using the IP number.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 22:50

Or maybe I just don't know where the data files are supposed to go?

It seems that the IP number connects into what would be an admin section of a website. Where do the data files go?
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 20. March 2007 23:08

http://database/xampp/ gives me the error:

This is not an error message from a XAMPP Apache...
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 23:16

Are you saying that is a windows error?
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 23:19

Not Found
The requested URL /xampp/ was not found on this server.
Apache/1.3.35 Server at database Port 80


That was the message I had in my browser when I tried to connect to the machine "database" that has Xaamp running.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 23:26

Can someone please direct me to a beginners guide in english?
From searching this board, all I can kind of guess is that
http://127.0.0.1/xaamp is merely connecting via Microsoft's peer to peer network and not to the httpd docs from the apache server.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 20. March 2007 23:27

I don't know to which server (pc) your browser connect with the URI "http://database/". But on this server (pc) is definitely no XAMPP running!
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 23:35

More mystery.

http://127.0.0.1/index.html

Says It Works.


http://database/index.html gives a blank page.

When I look at the source code, it reads:
Code: Select all
<?
   echo "web5.ltbx.com is alive";
?>


Who the heck is web5.ltbx.com?

How can I access my own apache server on my LAN?
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 20. March 2007 23:41

How can I access my own apache server on my LAN?

You should really give us more infos:

1st pc with XAMPP: "ipconfig /all". What's the "hostname" and ip for the LAN connection?

2nd pc with browser: "ipconfig /all". What's the "hostname" and ip for the LAN connection?


You make this test on pc1 (XAMPP) or pc2?

http://database/index.html gives a blank page.

You make this test on pc1 (XAMPP) or pc2?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 23:52

1st pc with XAMPP: "ipconfig /all". What's the "hostname" and ip for the LAN connection?


hostname: database
ip: 192.168.1.4

2nd pc with browser: "ipconfig /all". What's the "hostname" and ip for the LAN connection?


hostname: cindy4
ip: 192.168.1.5

THANK YOU for your help!
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 20. March 2007 23:53

The test was from pc 2.

PC 1 says apache is running.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby Wiedmann » 21. March 2007 00:07

The test was from pc 2.

Both tests or test1 or test2?

On pc2 execute both command:
Code: Select all
ping -a 192.168.1.4
ping -a database

What's the output?

PC 1 says apache is running.

What tool does this told you?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 00:12

ping 1 ran four times in just a few seconds.

ping 2 to database returned 12.215.23.4
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 00:13

The xampp control panel says Apache is Running.
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Postby lostndazed » 21. March 2007 00:14

ping 1 returned ip 192.168.1.4
lostndazed
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 20. March 2007 19:26

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 73 guests