publish URL

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

publish URL

Postby grayson9 » 21. January 2007 06:19

I want to view my website without seeing http://localhost at the beginning in my browser.
Everything appears to be ok
Apache http port 80
Apache webdav port 81
Apache https port 443

MySQL port 3306

I am running xampp as a service

My dns is pointing to my IP address
and my website is sitting happily in htdocs

But if i type my url into the browser eg; http://www.mysite.com i get nothing.
What more do i have to do that will allow my to see my wbsite on the internet without having "localhost" at the beginning of the browser
grayson9
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08. January 2007 03:33

Re: publish URL

Postby Izzy » 21. January 2007 07:58

Edited.
Someone else will look after your issues now.
Last edited by Izzy on 21. January 2007 13:15, edited 1 time in total.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

I kinda understand

Postby grayson9 » 21. January 2007 11:38

Ok,
I kida uderstand what you are saying to me (being a New Zealander saving the whales is important) and i will try the virtual server avenue as it seems likely to be my best option.
But but , but how the hell do i change my httpd-vhost-config file as it is not situated in filezilla and i cant open it on this #@%en Japanese comuter o make the mine to make the changes :idea:
grayson9
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08. January 2007 03:33

Haha

Postby grayson9 » 21. January 2007 11:42

And i tried the links but they all default to Japanese as well!
Im screwed hahaha
:shock:
If you have time Izzy can you spell it out for me?
I realise that you must be hellishly busy but if you can thanks
grayson9
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08. January 2007 03:33

Postby Izzy » 21. January 2007 11:47

Edited.
Someone else will look after your issues now.
Last edited by Izzy on 21. January 2007 13:17, edited 2 times in total.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Thanks

Postby grayson9 » 21. January 2007 11:52

Ta, i had no idea i could do that maybe it was just to obvious?
Should i just place your script at the bottom of the exsisting script
grayson9
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08. January 2007 03:33

Postby Izzy » 21. January 2007 12:03

Edited.
Someone else will look after your issues now.
Last edited by Izzy on 21. January 2007 13:17, edited 1 time in total.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby Wiedmann » 21. January 2007 12:55

grayson9 wrote:My dns is pointing to my IP address
and my website is sitting happily in htdocs

What more do i have to do that will allow my to see my wbsite on the internet

Configure your router.
Enable the ports in your firewall

That's all. (There is no need to change any XAMPP/Apache config file.)

BTW.
grayson9 wrote:But if i type my url into the browser eg; http://www.mysite.com i get nothing.

If you have a router you (often) can't use this URI on your own pc (LAN). You can use this URI with an other pc from the internet.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Why

Postby grayson9 » 22. January 2007 01:23

Izzy why did you dissapear? your help was very usefull and i said so!
i dont figure you out as i needed your help and then you say "someone else will look after your issues"
Is that part of a scheme?
I dont remember saying anything bad?

To much knowledge is usefull and sometimes to powerful but should always be shared.
grayson9
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08. January 2007 03:33


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests