register_globals

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

register_globals

Postby bakwoi » 17. January 2007 05:55

how might i enable register_globals in the php.ini ?
bakwoi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12. December 2006 19:32

Re: register_globals

Postby Izzy » 17. January 2007 06:24

bakwoi wrote:how might i enable register_globals in the php.ini ?

Open xampp\apache\bin\php.ini in your text editor and find this section:
; You should do your best to write your scripts so that they do not require
; register_globals to be on; Using form variables as globals can easily lead
; to possible security problems, if the code is not very well thought of.
register_globals = Off

Change the Off to On and your set to go.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby bakwoi » 17. January 2007 06:33

Thank you
bakwoi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12. December 2006 19:32

Postby Wiedmann » 17. January 2007 08:06

how might i enable register_globals in the php.ini ?

No one want reenable register_globals. Thats really a no no.

You are better advised to correct your scripts ;-)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby Izzy » 18. January 2007 02:49

bakwoi wrote:Thank you

Your welcome. :)

For more info about the perceived security implications and register_globals
(that are clearly mentioned in the above php.ini comments, for all to see and read) ;)
may be found here:
http://www.google.com/search?q=security ... er_globals
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests