Software Conflict ... [Please Close Topic]

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Software Conflict ... [Please Close Topic]

Postby DarthCrap » 25. December 2006 17:12

Topic Title : Software Conflict Causes VirtalHost Failure

I just purchased and installed the BT Home Hub.

Before installing it
---------------------
Xampp 1.55 was working, with virtual hosts set up so localhost was the htdocs directory and various www.no-ip.org addresses pointing to thier relevant C:/www/whatever directories.

After installing it
-------------------
localhost works, but Home Hub's http://api.home takes over all the www.no-ip.org addresses, which is potentioally insecure due to the 'disconnect from internet' button being there.

BT's reponse - Summarized By Me
----------------------------------------
It's not our problem, ask apache or xampp.

My question
--------------
Any ideas on how to fix it, i had sevral important programs written in php, and a two websites hosted on it. I use localhost as a testing area only.

Thanks.
Last edited by DarthCrap on 30. December 2006 16:05, edited 2 times in total.
DarthCrap
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 13. March 2006 18:15

Thread bump

Postby DarthCrap » 26. December 2006 23:53

If I shouldn't do this then sorry, but - *bumps thread*
DarthCrap
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 13. March 2006 18:15

Postby Izzy » 27. December 2006 00:37

If your XAMPP installation worked before you added a router then the most obvious move now would be to check the router configuration and adjust accordingly.

Read your router manual and/or do a Google to see if there is any help from that source.

http://www.google.com/search?q=BT+Home+ ... figuration

Port Forwarding:
http://www.google.com/search?q=port+forward
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Re: Software Conflict Causes VirtalHost Failure

Postby kevinduke » 27. December 2006 08:04

[quote="DarthCrap"]

After installing it
-------------------
localhost works, but Home Hub's http://api.home takes over all the www.no-ip.org addresses, which is potentioally insecure due to the 'disconnect from internet' button being there.
[quote]

Is this all within your LAN. if so what happens from outside you LAN ?.
You will probally find it is ok as I don't think the Home Hub supports loopback. Try looking around for one of the free Proxy servers and try going through one of them.
kevinduke
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 11. October 2006 16:34

Postby DarthCrap » 27. December 2006 15:57

I've fixed the problem.

[Please can an admin or mod close the topic or somthing]
I said this because i thought the thread won't be use to many people at all. It still stands.


Fix :
First, i did what Izzy said
Izzy wrote:If your XAMPP installation worked before you added a router then the most obvious move now would be to check the router configuration and adjust accordingly.

Read your router manual and/or do a Google to see if there is any help from that source.

http://www.google.com/search?q=BT+Home+Hub+Configuration

Port Forwarding:
http://www.google.com/search?q=port+forward


And found a useful thread on another forum where people who had problems with the BT home hub were discussing them.

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=418613&page=28&pp=25#post12084866

I posted a message on there, as seen in the above link, and got a reply within 9 minutes.

I logged onto the BT Home Hub control panel, and after sevral attemps, managed to log in successfully (I had forgot the password). I went to the toolbox then to the application sharing menu, and added the following

    [item]FTP Server[/item]
    [item]HTTP Server (Wolrd Wide Web)[/item]
    [item]HTTPS Server[/item]
    [item]Secure Web Server (HTTPS)[/item]
    [item]Web Server (HTTP)[/item]

I know in that list HTTP and HTTPS servers are repeated, but they were options on the list and thats what i did.

Once that is done a reboot will finalize and fix the problem.
Last edited by DarthCrap on 30. December 2006 16:22, edited 2 times in total.
DarthCrap
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 13. March 2006 18:15

Postby Izzy » 30. December 2006 02:08

DarthCrap wrote:I've fixed the problem.

[THREAD NEEDS CLOSING]

Why does the thread need closing and why shout (all caps) - you have not posted what you did to fix it yet?

You came on these forums asking for help but after you found a fix you have decided that you will not post it here for the benefit of other readers that might have a similar issue and are looking for a solution.

This is not good general forum etiquette and will undoubtably effect any future request for help you might need on these forums.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby DarthCrap » 30. December 2006 16:22

Sorry. :( Really stupid thing for me to have done.
DarthCrap
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 13. March 2006 18:15

Postby Izzy » 30. December 2006 20:58

Thanks for returning and giving us your fix.
I am sure that anyone else that may find themselves with this problem will be eternally grateful for your feedback.

Well done, good luck and a Happy New Year. :)
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests