Need Help!!!!

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Need Help!!!!

Postby Y2Bads » 30. October 2006 22:30

I have two major questions. First off, I am new to PHP and everything i need for it. My friend has a site that is PHP and needs my help. It is hard to get in contact with him, but I was wondering what I need to get from him to work on the sites? For example, I use to do a HTML site and would create the pages in Microsoft FrontPage, save them as html and upload them onto the Bravenet.com server. Is PHP the same way to or is it totally different. Does he need to send me the files through email or should I ask him for what server he is using?

Second, how do I see the files in Apache? Ive downloaded the XAMPP but dont know where to go from here. If someone can help me step by step that would be awesome. I just need an idea on PHP.

y2bads@hotmail.com
Y2Bads

PHP

Postby natasja123 » 31. October 2006 09:26

I dont know Frontpage that well I know that with dreamweaver you will be able to edit and ftp the pages to your friend.
Just know that php is more scripting - it is not as visual as html.
It is important to check that his server does have php functionality - I do not think Bravenet does.
I will be more than happy to help you - just let me know.
Your first thing that you will have to check is if Bravenet does have php functionality.
natasja123

Re: Need Help!!!!

Postby mnemotronic » 01. November 2006 06:45