Cannot change root pass

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Cannot change root pass

Postby zantor » 26. October 2006 11:25

Hi.

im having trouble getting into my mysql database via phpmyadmin. i have the mysql running and when i try and access the phpmyadmin with root and "passwordiuse" it wont let me in. so ive been trying the different ways to change the root pass but the xampp/security way says its done it but i cannot stil access it. it seems the mysql is just stoped all connections? any help would be great thanks.
zantor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 26. October 2006 11:20

Re: Cannot change root pass

Postby Izzy » 26. October 2006 12:00

zantor wrote:Hi.

im having trouble getting into my mysql database via phpmyadmin. i have the mysql running and when i try and access the phpmyadmin with root and "passwordiuse" it wont let me in. so ive been trying the different ways to change the root pass but the xampp/security way says its done it but i cannot stil access it. it seems the mysql is just stoped all connections? any help would be great thanks.

1. Enter your current password in the Current Passwort field.
2. Enter your new password in the New Password field.
3. Enter your new password again in the Repeat the new password field.
4. Stop MySQL then restart MySQL

Try and access phpMyAdmin again by entering your root/newpassword.

Now if this fails again then there is a reset root password batch file:
xampp\mysql\resetroot.bat
Run it and go to the Security page again and start from item 2. above.

See how you go then post back and let us know if it let you in this time.
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06

Postby zantor » 26. October 2006 13:00

i tried both and it still wont give me access. keep saying cannot access database on "Cookie" mode and on "http" it says wrong password.
zantor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 26. October 2006 11:20

Postby Izzy » 27. October 2006 01:38

zantor wrote:i tried both and it still wont give me access. keep saying cannot access database on "Cookie" mode and on "http" it says wrong password.

Can you paste the actual error messages you are receiving please?

Can you paste this part of the xampp\phpmyadmin\config-inc.php
Code: Select all
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host']          = 'localhost'; // MySQL hostname or IP address
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['port']          = '';          // MySQL port - leave blank for default port
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket']        = '';          // Path to the socket - leave blank for default socket
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type']  = 'tcp';       // How to connect to MySQL server ('tcp' or 'socket')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension']     = 'mysql';     // The php MySQL extension to use ('mysql' or 'mysqli')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress']      = FALSE;       // Use compressed protocol for the MySQL connection
                                                    // (requires PHP >= 4.3.0)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser']   = 'pma';          // MySQL control user settings
                                                    // (this user must have read-only
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass']   = '';          // access to the "mysql/user"
                                                    // and "mysql/db" tables).
                                                    // The controluser is also
                                                    // used for all relational
                                                    // features (pmadb)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type']     = 'cookie';      // Authentication method (config, http or cookie based)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user']          = 'root';      // MySQL user
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password']      = '';          // MySQL password (only needed
                                                    // with 'config' auth_type)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['only_db']       = '';          // If set to a db-name, only
                                                    // this db is displayed in left frame
                                                    // It may also be an array of db-names, where sorting order is relevant.
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['verbose']       = '';          // Verbose name for this host - leave blank to show the hostname

The above is from my file and yours should be very similar including the blank password fields.

In the FAQ there are 3 methods to change the password, here is method 3:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/faq-xam ... #password2

There is a another method of How to Reset the Root Password here:
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/ ... sions.html

Take your time and read it a few times and try and follow what is required. It is an effective process that works.
This link may explain it somewhat simpler but the content is the same as the official mysql docs version.
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2006/04/2 ... ql-server/

Here is a Google search that might help:
http://www.google.com/search?q=change+m ... rd+windows
Izzy
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: 25. April 2006 17:06


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 87 guests