Page 1 of 1

register Globals

PostPosted: 25. September 2006 04:55
by anwoke8204
Hi I am trying to install a script on my website, and it says it needs register globals enabled, and that I can do via php.ini or .htaccess file, how do I do it via the htaccess file, as that is the way I would prefer to do it.

Re: register Globals

PostPosted: 25. September 2006 06:56
by Izzy
anwoke8204 wrote:Hi I am trying to install a script on my website, and it says it needs register globals enabled, and that I can do via php.ini or .htaccess file, how do I do it via the htaccess file, as that is the way I would prefer to do it.

Code: Select all
php_value register_globals 1

PostPosted: 25. September 2006 07:56
by anwoke8204
sorry I new to this, do I add that to the .htaccess file(and if so how do I do that), or is that in the php.ini file.

PostPosted: 25. September 2006 08:04
by Izzy
anwoke8204 wrote:sorry I new to this, do I add that to the .htaccess file(and if so how do I do that), or is that in the php.ini file.

This for a .htaccess file.

Open your text editor and copy/paste the above snippet into the page.
Save the file as .htaccess into the root web directory of your site that is going to serve the script.
Example only:
xampp/htdocs/yoursite/.htaccess

j/k ;P

PostPosted: 27. September 2006 23:59
by nimd4
anwoke8204 wrote:do it via the htaccess file
Izzy wrote:
Code: Select all
php_value register_globals 1
anwoke8204 wrote:or is that in the php.ini file

Yeah, hmm :roll: :P :wink:

Re: j/k ;P

PostPosted: 28. September 2006 00:03
by Izzy
nimd4 wrote:
anwoke8204 wrote:do it via the htaccess file
Izzy wrote:
Code: Select all
php_value register_globals 1
anwoke8204 wrote:or is that in the php.ini file

Yeah, hmm :roll: :P :wink:
Sort of smart ass reply one would expect from an lame AOLer. ;)


It is different in the xampp\apache\bin\php.ini file:
; You should do your best to write your scripts so that they do not require
; register_globals to be on; Using form variables as globals can easily lead
; to possible security problems, if the code is not very well thought of.
;register_globals = Off (the default)
register_globals = On

Hehe

PostPosted: 07. November 2006 22:20
by nimd4
Izzy wrote:AOLer.

Excuse the spam (just seen it) --

Lolz, always forget that sarcasm doesn't work in print (heh) .. Good one btw! :)

ps. fo' sure would never, ever use AOl ...