Hi, I want to re-install activeperl - any suggestions?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Hi, I want to re-install activeperl - any suggestions?

Postby chanio » 02. August 2003 09:10

:lol: Hello friends,
Does anybody have any suggestions, about reinstalling ActivePerl over the installed one? (its my first time)
I didn't wanted to, but it happens that I already had ActivePerl installed at another drive and it is now messing with this one.

:idea: My brilliant idea, is now to :
1) copy all my other modules over Wampp2's Perl lib.
2) deleting the other drive's ActivePerl
3) reinstalling all over previous Wampp2's ActivePerl

:lol: Why?
Because I thought that both installations might live together and share modules by declaring PERL5LIB Win environment variable.
Don't do it! It messes all the modules, and crashes PPM3, and installs all the modules at your first declared PERL5LIB path.
Mine was, fortunatelly, Wampp2's perl library, so I might have nearly all the modules correctly installed to re-install ActivePerl over it.

:roll:(wish me luck)
Gallactic Firewall
chanio

Postby Guest » 03. August 2003 11:57

Make a back op of the config file and webroot from wamp,
The remove it, and remove the 2nd instalation of active perl,
Then reinstall wamp, and copy your config back and your set

Postby phoenix » 03. August 2003 16:00

Hi

Perhaps I'm missing something here (I usually do :cry: ) but isn't the version of perl included with the latest XAMPP the ActiveState version?

Regards

Bill
phoenix

Thanks 4 the advice

Postby chanio » 03. August 2003 22:15

:lol: Yes, it is ActivePerl. And works great!