Page 2 of 4

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 21:57
by Wiedmann
It outputs exactly:
c:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe

That's correct.

An other question:
Wiedmann wrote:Some (Tweak-) Tools change the startup path from a subshell.

Really no such tool like "Tune-Up" on your box?

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 22:04
by Izzy
dwion wrote:EDIT: Here is one of the few things I can find on the net about php cli, but I can't read German so I don't kow if it's helpful or not.

For your interest the ComSpec variable was the fix referred to on the above German forum page. :)

Clutching at straws here but you did try and rename mysql/bin/my to my.cnf?

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 22:22
by dwion
Izzy wrote:You may want to check the Path variable ... You can then edit it and then copy/paste it back to the text box.


Crap, I have to open my eyes. OK, looking at this path value it gives:

Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\ActiveState Komodo 3.5\;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\


I recognize what a few things are there, but I'm not sure what I would edit this to, or if I even needed to. Is something standing out there that looks problematic?

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 22:38
by Izzy
No that looks fine but you may like to add C:\xampp to the end if that is the path to your xampp installation if not just change the C\:xampp to what ever the path may be. Then stop and restart what you can of the xampp parts. It won't hurt but it might help also.

.....;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\xampp

You can rest assured that I will continue to clutch at every straw that I think may assist with resolving this issue.
It must be driving you insane. :D

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 22:41
by Wiedmann
Izzy wrote:Clutching at straws here but you did try and rename mysql/bin/my to my.cnf?

He can't do that, because he have no file "mysql/bin/my". He only have a "mysql/bin/my.cnf".

dwion wrote:Crap, I have to open my eyes. OK, looking at this path value it gives

No problem with your PATH.

But I think you don't understand the real problem. I try a better explanation:
a) open a command prompt (cmd.exe).
b) now this command:
Code: Select all
cd

What is the output?

c) now change the directory:
Code: Select all
cd "C:\Programm Files"


d) now open a subshell in this window with this command:
Code: Select all
cmd.exe

e) now this command:
Code: Select all
cd

What is the output?

f) now close the subshell:
Code: Select all
exit


g) now close the 1st command prompt:
Code: Select all
exit

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:05
by dwion
Wow, you guys are on the move. Hard to keep up ;)

Wiedmann wrote:An other question: [about (Tweak-) Tools]
Really no such tool like "Tune-Up" on your box?


Nope. I didn't even know what that was until I just now looked it up. I guess you mean this? Seriously, I don't mess with my laptop much, unless it's really necessary. Security? Yeah, I try and keep an eye on that sort of thing, but performance and such, nah, I really don't have a need.

Izzy wrote:you may like to add C:\xampp to the end if that is the path


Done, but didn't have any affect.

Wiedmann wrote:
Izzy wrote:Clutching at straws here but you did try and rename mysql/bin/my to my.cnf?

He can't do that, because he have no file "mysql/bin/my". He only have a "mysql/bin/my.cnf".


Actually, I had the file "my" (without the extension). I just renamed it to "my.cnf". Izzy you mentioned something about looking in that file to see if the paths were correct, but I can't seem to open that file. It's called a "speeddial" file or something. Looks like to be a shortcut file to something else.

Wiedmann, I'll get back to your other inquiries in a minute; and yes, you are right, I don't really understand the real problem at all. I'll admit that much. I kind of do but I can't really put it into words or know at all how to troubleshoot for it. Basically, Xampp is expecting paths to work one way, Winblows is making them go another, right? Result: XAMPP no workie. ;)

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:12
by Wiedmann
I guess you mean this?

Right, a tool like this one. Only such a tool can change the windows behavior for subshells (or a regfile you have imported).
--> And that's the reason why it's danger to use such tools...

Result: XAMPP no workie

Not only XAMPP, other programs which uses subshells too.

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:20
by dwion
That's good to know, thanks, but like I said, I don't have, or use, anything like that. (Nor any imported reg files.)

Still doing the command prompt stuff. Hold tight.

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:25
by Wiedmann
Actually, I had the file "my" (without the extension). I just renamed it to "my.cnf".

You have made this in explorer? Then you now have the file "my.cnf.cnf" and MySQL can't start anymore...

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:32
by dwion
OK, sorry for the hold up.

Wiedmann wrote:b) now this command:
Code: Select all
cd

What is the output?


C:\Documents and Settings\Destry>

(That's me, Destry, and it's the name of my admin account)

e) now this command:
Code: Select all
cd

What is the output?


C:\Program Files>

Izzy wrote:Check your error logs for clues.


Where are these, exactly?

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:36
by dwion
Wiedmann wrote:
Actually, I had the file "my" (without the extension). I just renamed it to "my.cnf".

You have made this in explorer? Then you now have the file "my.cnf.cnf" and MySQL can't start anymore...


Well, MySQL wasn't starting anyway, but I see what you're getting at. I've changed it back.

EDIT: wait, are you suggesting I should have changed it somewhere else...command prompt for example? If so, can you elaborate? Izzy suggested I change it, I did. Please guys/gals, don't make me run in circles.

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:42
by Wiedmann
Interessting:
C:\Documents and Settings\Destry>
and
C:\Program Files>

That's correct.

Next test ;-)

a) make a bakup copy from "c:\xampp\setup_xampp.bat"
b) open the file "c:\xampp\setup_xampp.bat" in notepad and change the line 6 to:
Code: Select all
echo %cd%
GOTO END
if exist php\php.exe GOTO Normal

c) now execute this batchfile. What's the output?

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:46
by dwion
Wiedmann wrote:Interessting ... That's correct ... Next test ;-)


I'm beginning to think your just having a go at me for kicks. ;)

Running test.

PostPosted: 29. July 2006 23:55
by dwion
Wiedmann wrote:c) now execute this batchfile. What's the output?


C:\Documents and Settings\Destry
Press any key to continue...

PostPosted: 30. July 2006 00:00
by Wiedmann
C:\Documents and Settings\Destry

And that's the problem. On a normal Windows this path must be "C:\xampp".
--> Because "C:\xampp" is the location of the batchfile, you have start the batchfile in this directory and so "C:\xampp" must be the working directory and not "C:\Documents and Settings\Destry".

You have start the batchfile with a doubleclick in explorer? Then you can try to start this file in the shell (cmd.exe):
Code: Select all
cd \xampp
xampp_setup.bat