Problem with Localhost

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Problem with Localhost

Postby marginal » 05. March 2006 15:13

I wish to set up a test server on my machine so I can privatly tweak around with my wordpress template.

I follow the instructions here:

http://www.tamba2.org.uk/wordpress/xampp/

However, at the point of going to:

http://localhost/xampp/splash.php

My browser never connects to it. Any info on this?

System Spec: Win XP Pro
Browser: Firefox/IE
marginal
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05. March 2006 15:01

Postby WorldDrknss » 06. March 2006 02:59

Please check here:
http://www.xampptutorials.com
http://www.xampptutorials.com/forum/

Friendly people and loads of informations and tutorials
Good Luck
:)
User avatar
WorldDrknss
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 17. September 2005 13:40

Postby marginal » 07. March 2006 13:45

Thanks for the link. I have tried that tutorial and the same problem still happens..

Please help!
marginal
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05. March 2006 15:01

Postby WorldDrknss » 08. March 2006 11:26

if you altered any configuration files change them back, and instead of using the htdocs folder, try using a virtualhost container instead to host your pages from.

http://xampptutorials.com
User avatar
WorldDrknss
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 17. September 2005 13:40

Postby marginal » 15. March 2006 19:35

Hi, Ive been able to get NOWHERE regarding this problem and now its delaying my project :-(

Could someone help me out here?
marginal
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05. March 2006 15:01

Postby marginal » 19. March 2006 14:08

Hi again.

I had Xampp 1.4 working properly before the upgrade, so I decided to downgrade back v1.4 and try. However the ' waiting for localhost ' problem is still there and I am now wondering if it is a software conflict that is stopping me getting this resolved.

Please help!
marginal
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05. March 2006 15:01

Postby aeonknight » 20. March 2006 00:52

marginal,

I'm a linux user, but let's see what I can remember.

1. Are you running any anti-virus or firewall that could be blocking ports? (windows firewall for example)

2. Are you running another program that could be using either port 80 or 443? This could cause conflict with Apache.

3. Actually, so you don't get any error message when you start xampp?

4. After starting Xampp, what do you get if you open a prompt (cmd) and run these commands (ignore the dollar sign):
$ telnet localhost 80
$ telnet localhost 443
$ telnet 127.0.0.1 80
$ telnet 127.0.0.1 443

5. What's the output of
$ ipconfig /all
(you may want to delete your real IP if it appears, for privacy).

6. Finally, can you install another program that would use a port so that you can test localhost/127.0.0.1? By the way, does Mysql work?
$ telnet localhost 3306
$ telnet 127.0.0.1 3306

AeonKnight
aeonknight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17. March 2006 08:50

Postby marginal » 20. March 2006 12:11

I have disabled firewall/AV

$ telnet localhost 80
$ telnet localhost 443
$ telnet 127.0.0.1 80
$ telnet 127.0.0.1 443


Nothing shows up on the CMD when I try the above.

ipconfig /all : That shows up my modem info/IP

However:

telnet localhost 3306 shows: 4.1.140b~sFATa,e00kx8KP3MjM"aC

Connection to host lost

The same applies with: telnet 127.0.0.1 3306

Msql seems to be working
marginal
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05. March 2006 15:01

Postby aeonknight » 22. March 2006 03:07

That's a good sign. So it's not a problem with firewall, not with IP assignment, not with "localhost". Everything points to Apache itself.

Can you confirm that you have it running in your Task Manager? Its name may be httpd. And you may have two of them, one for port 80 and another for 443 (ssl).

What I would try to do is open
/xampp/apache/httpd.conf
(I think that's the directory)

And change the ports. Plus you may try to disable SSL as well, to see if that helps (by not invoking the ssl.conf in that same file [I once had some problem and disabling SSL solved it]).

Once you change a port, say to 8080, you will have to go to:
http://localhost:8080/
aeonknight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17. March 2006 08:50

Postby cj_nza » 22. March 2006 05:27

I am no expert but this is what I found on my system:

When Apache is running and "telnet localhost 80" is issued, a telnet session is opened (the Title bar of the window changes from command prompt to telnet) and a blank screen is displayed.

If Apache is not running you will receive an error message indicating that a connection to the host at port 80 could not be established.

The display of a blank telnet screen after issuing telnet localhost 80 from the command prompts is no indication that there is a problem with Apache, to the contrary it indicate that telnet could in fact reach the host.

In addition I checked on the WordPress forum and there is mention of a 'waiting for localhost' as if it is something that is returned in the browser. The word 'waiting for localhost' in quites was also used in a previous post here, could you please confirm what problem you are currently having, stil the original unable to get anything or has that changed to something different after all your other effort.
cj_nza
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 06. September 2005 11:49

Postby aeonknight » 23. March 2006 07:19

That's a good point, cj.

marginal, what exactly do you mean by:
"Nothing shows up on the CMD when I try the above."

An error (time out) or a blank screen?
aeonknight
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 17. March 2006 08:50

Postby marginal » 26. March 2006 15:19

marginal, what exactly do you mean by:
"Nothing shows up on the CMD when I try the above."


Just a blank CMD window titled Telnet localhost.



I dont havd any httpd running in task manager?

In addition I checked on the WordPress forum and there is mention of a 'waiting for localhost' as if it is something that is returned in the browser. The word 'waiting for localhost' in quites was also used in a previous post here, could you please confirm what problem you are currently having, stil the original unable to get anything or has that changed to something different after all your other effort.


As Ive said before when I try to reach localhost via the browser, nothing shows up. The browser is waiting for localhost..






marginal
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05. March 2006 15:01

Postby marginal » 31. March 2006 20:02

Anyone got other ideas then? Surely what is stopping me running this properly?? Please help!
marginal
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05. March 2006 15:01

SAME PROBLEM HERE

Postby reejem » 13. April 2006 12:04

I BELIEVE IM ALSO HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM HERE

IVE DOWNLOADED AND INSTALLED THE LATEST VERSION OF XAMPP [AND ITS SERVICES - APACHE SQL AND FILEZILLA ONLY] AND BY THE TIME I RAN THE TEST

"Step 3: Start your browser and type http://127.0.0.1 or
http://localhost in the location bar. You should see our pre-made
start page with certain examples and test screens."

NOTHING HAPPENS DEAR SIR/S

I'VE CHECKED THROUGHOUT THE FORUM BUT TO NO AVAIL
IM USING WINDOWS XP SP2 AND MY BROWSERS ARE BOTH IE AND FIREFOX... IVE ALSO TURNED DOWN THE WINDOWS FIREWALL... AND IM CURIOUS ON WHY I HAVE TWO APACHE.EXE RUNNING ON MY TASK MANAGER..

IM SO SORRY THAT IM REALLY NOT A HIGHLY TECHNICAL INDIVIDUAL LIKE MOST OF YOU DO... BUT I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR HELP FOR A NOOB LIKE ME... THANK YOU
reejem
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 13. April 2006 11:45

Postby Wiedmann » 13. April 2006 12:17

Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests