Can someone please try to help me??

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Can someone please try to help me??

Postby mjhasbach » 05. February 2006 23:38

Hello, I recently downloaded XAMPP and set it up...I am having some wierd problems...I cannot view my own site from my own computer, but other people can see my site from thiers...

I have tried looking for my site in Internet Explorer and Firefox. Whenever I got to my site, it says Page Cannot Be Displayed, but my other friends can see it just fine.

Here is some other information that might be helpful in solving this problem:
-I am using a router Wirelessly (Netgear)
-I have DMZ turned on
-I am using Windows SP2
-My website URL is http://www.ClanKiLL.game-host.org

Does anyone think they have a solution to this problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
mjhasbach
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 05. February 2006 23:28

Postby KingCrunch » 05. February 2006 23:44

Whats about http://localhost/ ?
Nicht jeder Fehler ist ein Bug ...
KingCrunch
 
Posts: 1724
Joined: 26. November 2005 19:25

Postby kool_zero » 06. February 2006 00:28

if localhost doesn't work...try checkin the ports on your router and make sure that you have the correct ports forwarded or opened
kool_zero
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 19. January 2006 20:13

Postby tjthedj » 06. February 2006 00:37

i don't know how to fix your poblem but i'd suggest that go ahead and put a test page in so that people don't try and settup your e107 stuff when they click on that link you gave. it came up with the install screen, and that can be dangerous to hackers.
tjthedj
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 29. January 2006 20:40
Location: Texas, USA

Postby KingCrunch » 06. February 2006 00:44

OK, i think its a routing problem. You cant see your own Server, if you use the public domain. So, if anybody who should can see your server from outside, i think, its all ok. You cann add your domain to your hosts-file, so the adress will be resolved on your own computer and evereything is finde ;)
Nicht jeder Fehler ist ein Bug ...
KingCrunch
 
Posts: 1724
Joined: 26. November 2005 19:25

Postby mjhasbach » 06. February 2006 00:49

I took e107 off the site. Also, I have DMZ enabled, which automatically opens all ports.

I tried http://localhost and this came up:

Object not found!

The requested URL was not found on this server. If you entered the URL manually please check your spelling and try again.

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.
Error 404
localhost
02/05/06 18:47:02
Apache/2.2.0 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.0 OpenSSL/0.9.8a mod_autoindex_color PHP/5.1.1

lol...any other ideas...?
mjhasbach
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 05. February 2006 23:28

Postby tjthedj » 06. February 2006 00:51

do u have an index.html file in the htdocs folder??

EDIT: try putting in a index file (eithere index.htm, index.html, index.php) then try the localhost again ensuring that apache serrver is running
Last edited by tjthedj on 06. February 2006 00:52, edited 1 time in total.
tjthedj
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 29. January 2006 20:40
Location: Texas, USA

Postby mjhasbach » 06. February 2006 00:51

KingCrunch wrote:You cann add your domain to your hosts-file, so the adress will be resolved on your own computer and evereything is finde ;)


What did you mean by that KingCrunch?

tjthedj wrote:do u have an index.html file in the htdocs folder??


Um...no...lol...what is the htdocs folder?? I am a noob sorry...
mjhasbach
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 05. February 2006 23:28

Postby KingCrunch » 06. February 2006 00:55

I think in windows/system32 there is a file "hosts". In there Windows helds known hosts. So if you add your domain and links it to your private ip, windows dont tries to resolve the adress over the inet. If you dont find the file, try the search ;)
Nicht jeder Fehler ist ein Bug ...
KingCrunch
 
Posts: 1724
Joined: 26. November 2005 19:25

Postby mjhasbach » 06. February 2006 01:34

Well, my friend helped me...he said the same thing as KingCrunch about that hosts file. Thanks everyone for your help!

I can get to my site and install what I needed to, so problem solved thanks.
mjhasbach
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 05. February 2006 23:28

Postby WorldDrknss » 06. February 2006 04:54

No problem mjhasbach always glad to help.

http://www.worlddrknss.blogdns.org
User avatar
WorldDrknss
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 17. September 2005 13:40


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests